Great interest in blockchain and 3D printing

Darmstadt, October 2019 – Blockchain and additive production not only go well together – they are also arousing great interest.

Over 70 participants from industry, development and the research community attended the User Day held at the Center for Applied Aviation Research (ZAL) in Hamburg, where PROSTEP, together with other consortium partners, presented the results of the joint SAMPL (Secure Additive Manufacturing Platform) project sponsored by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). The solution for the tamper-proof exchange of 3D print data based on blockchain technology and developed within the framework of the project is now suitable for practical use, as reports from the field provided by users and service providers in the area of 3D print technology made clear. In addition to industrial use cases, Marco Mueller-ter Jung, LL.M., specialist lawyer for IT law at DWF, also discussed legal aspects of 3D data exchange, such as IP protection and protection of company data, at the User Day.

"Blockchain is gaining increasing acceptance in industry because industry has recognized the need for the tamper-proof transfer of 3D print data," said PROSTEP project coordinator Dr. Martin Holland commenting on the success of the event.

At the start of the event, Holland explained the background of the project and the advantages provided by a trustworthy data transfer chain (chain of trust) for 3D print data, such as protection against counterfeit parts due to the misuse of data or the unique identification of printed components. It is imperative for companies that want to have spare parts for their aircraft additively manufactured by external service providers for example. The foundation for the chain of trust is provided by PROSTEP's secure data exchange solution OpenDXM GlobalX in combination with blockchain technology, which manages the licenses for 3D printing and protects against manipulation.

The integration of trusted 3D printers in the security solution is also crucial to creating a seamless chain of trust. Several companies, including 3DMicroPrint and SLM Solutions, presented SAMPL-capable 3D printers at the User Day. Weidmüller, a manufacturer of control cabinet systems, was the first industrial user to manufacture a component on a metal-based 3D printer from SLM Solutions using the SAMPL chain of trust. "Connecting our 3D printers to SAMPL was easy," said Andreas Hoppe, head of the software development team at SLM Solutions. "The well-documented REST interface meant that we were able to support the processing of blockchain-protected print jobs within just a few days."

Practical demonstrations in the foyer of the ZAL neatly rounded off the interesting program of presentations: the Airbus AM laboratory demonstrated the use of a SAMPL-capable FDM (fused deposition modeling) printer. The company NXP showed how components can be identified with absolute certainty in the context of 3D printing by automatically fitting them with RFID chips. And PROSTEP used the SAMPL demonstrator to illustrate how OpenDXM GlobalX can be used to transfer data to a SAMPL-capable FDM printer.

At the end of the event, Holland explained how the SAMPL chain of trust can be put into use in a broad range of industrial applications within the framework of a consortium solution. Anyone interested in this consortium solution can obtain further information from Dr. Martin Holland (martin.holland@prostep.com).

The presentations of the event will soon be available at http://www.sampl-3d.de.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

Großes Interesse an Blockchain und 3D-Druck

Darmstadt, Oktober 2019 – Blockchain und Additive Fertigung gehen nicht nur gut zusammen – sie treffen auch auf großes Interesse.

Über 70 Teilnehmer aus Industrie, Forschung & Entwicklung kamen zum Anwendertag ins Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung (ZAL) in Hamburg, wo PROSTEP zusammen mit anderen Konsortialpartnern die Ergebnisse des vom BMWi geförderten Verbundprojekts SAMPL (Secure Additive Manufacturing Platform) präsentierte. Die im Rahmen des Projekts entwickelte Lösung für den fälschungssicheren Austausch von 3D-Druckdaten auf Basis der Blockchain-Technologie ist inzwischen praxistauglich, wie die Erfahrungsberichte von Anwendern und Dienstleistern aus den Bereichen der 3D-Druck-Technologie deutlich machten. Neben industriellen Anwendungsfällen wurden von Marco Müller-ter Jung, LL.M., Fachanwalt für IT-Recht in der Wirtschaftskanzlei DWF, beim Anwendertag auch rechtliche Aspekte zum Austausch von 3D-Daten, wie IP-Schutz und Schutz der Unternehmensdaten, erörtert.

„Die Blockchain findet wachsende Akzeptanz in der Industrie, weil sie die Notwendigkeit einer fälschungssicheren Übertragung von 3D-Druckdaten erkannt hat“, kommentierte Projektkoordinator Dr. Martin Holland von PROSTEP den Erfolg der Veranstaltung.

Zum Auftakt der Veranstaltung erläuterte Holland den Teilnehmern die Hintergründe des Projekts und die Vorteile einer vertrauenswürdigen Datentransferkette (Chain of Trust) für 3D-Druckdaten wie den Schutz vor Plagiaten durch Datenmissbrauch oder die eindeutige Identifikation der gedruckten Bauteile. Sie ist unerlässlich für Unternehmen, die z.B. Ersatzteile für ihre Flugzeuge durch externe Dienstleister additiv fertigen lassen wollen. Grundlage der „Chain of Trust“ ist PROSTEPs sicherer Datenaustauschlösung OpenDXM GlobalX in Kombination mit der Blockchain, die die Lizenzen für den 3D-Druck manipulationssicher managt.

Entscheidend für eine lückenlose „Chain of Trust“ ist aber auch die Integration vertrauenswürdiger 3D-Drucker in die Sicherheitslösung. Auf dem Anwendertag stellten verschiedene Unternehmen SAMPL-fähige 3D-Drucker vor, darunter die Anbieter 3DMicroPrint und SLM Solutions. Der Hersteller von Schaltschranksystemen Weidmüller, hat als erster Industrieanwender unter Nutzung der SAMPL Chain of Trust ein Bauteil auf einem metallbasierten 3D-Drucker von SLM Solutions gefertigt. „Die Anbindung unserer 3D-Drucker an SAMPL war denkbar einfach“, sagte Andreas Hoppe, Teamleiter Softwareentwicklung bei SLM Solutions. „Dank der gut dokumentierten REST-Schnittstelle konnten wir binnen weniger Tage die Verarbeitung Blockchain-geschützter Druckjobs unterstützen.“

Praktische Vorführungen im Foyer des ZAL rundeten das interessante Vortragsprogramm ab: So zeigte das Airbus AM Labor den Einsatz eines SAMPL-fähigen FDM-Druckers (Fused Deposition Modeling). Wie Bauteile beim 3D-Druck durch automatische Einbringung eines RFID-Chips zweifelsfrei identifiziert werden können, demonstrierte die Firma NXP. Und PROSTEP erläuterte anhand des SAMPL-Demonstrators den Datentransfer mit OpenDXM GlobalX zu einem SAMPL-fähigen FDM-Drucker.

Zum Abschluss der Veranstaltung erläuterte Holland, wie die SAMPL Chain of Trust im Rahmen einer Konsortiallösung in die breite industrielle Anwendung gebracht werden kann. Interessenten an dieser Konsortiallösung können weiter Informationen bei Dr. Martin Holland (martin.holland@prostep.com) erhalten.

Die Präsentationen der Veranstaltung stehen Ihnen in Kürze unter http://www.sampl-3d.de zur Verfügung.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2019 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB