Adient Aerospace uses OpenDXM GlobalX from the cloud

Darmstadt, July 2021 – Cloud-based applications can be used "as-is" without high initial investments, which makes them particularly interesting for start-ups or newly founded companies like Adient Aerospace. The manufacturer of aircraft seats, a joint venture between car seat manufacturer Adient and aircraft manufacturer The Boeing Company, recently began using PROSTEP's leading data exchange platform OpenDXM GlobalX as a software-as-a-service (SaaS) model from the cloud.

Adient is a leading global manufacturer of car seats. In 2018, the company brought its aircraft seating business into a joint venture with The Boeing Company. Following a transition period, this resulted in the need to carve out the PLM infrastructure and roll out a separate data exchange solution for the joint venture. After a market analysis, the decision was made in favor of OpenDXM GlobalX from PROSTEP because the solution meets the requirements regarding secure and traceable data exchange with partner companies.

The company opted for the cloud-based SaaS model to ensure that they would be able to use the data exchange platform quickly and without any procurement costs or installation effort. The software is installed in PROSTEP AG's partner computer center. After appropriate authorization, users access it using encrypted data lines and an intuitive web portal. This meant that very little training was required. The time and effort required for installation and commissioning was also kept within reasonable limits. The solution was operational just one day after the order was received. Adient extracted the contact data for partners in the aerospace industry from the legacy system in the automotive division so that it could be automatically transferred to OpenDXM GlobalX.

The engineers at Adient Aerospace are currently using OpenDXM GlobalX as a portal solution, i.e. they extract the data to be exchanged from their PTC Windchill PLM system and send it manually using OpenDXM GlobalX. The company is thinking about implementing an OpenDXM GlobalX Windchill integration with the aim of automating and accelerating data exchange processes. PROSTEP's data exchange platform can be integrated very easily in the processes and applications of the respective company.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
3290 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 220
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Adient Aerospace nutzt OpenDXM GlobalX aus der Cloud

Darmstadt, Juli 2021 – Cloud-basierte Anwendungen sind ohne hohe Anfangsinvestitionen aus dem Stand nutzbar, was sie vor allem für Start-ups oder neu gegründete Firmen wie Adient Aerospace interessant macht. Seit kurzem nutzt der Hersteller von Flugzeugsitzen, ein Joint Venture zwischen Automobilsitz-Hersteller Adient und Flugzeughersteller The Boeing Company, die weltweit führende Datenaustausch-Plattform OpenDXM GlobalX von PROSTEP als SaaS-Modell aus der Cloud.

Adient ist ein weltweit führender Hersteller von Automobilsitzen. Im Jahr 2018 brachte das Unternehmen sein Flugzeugsitzgeschäft in ein Joint Venture mit The Boeing Company ein. Nach einer Übergangszeit ergab sich daraus die Notwendigkeit, die PLM-Infrastruktur auszugliedern und eine eigene Datenaustauschlösung für das Joint Venture einzuführen. Nach einer Marktanalyse fiel die Entscheidung auf OpenDXM GlobalX von PROSTEP, da die Lösung die Anforderungen eines sicheren und nachvollziehbaren Datenaustauschs zu den Partnerunternehmen erfüllt.

Um die Datenaustauschplattform schnell und ohne Anschaffungskosten und Installationsaufwand nutzen zu können, entschied sich das Unternehmen für das cloudbasierte SaaS-Modell (Software as a Service). Die Software ist im Partner-Rechenzentrum der PROSTEP AG installiert. Nach entsprechender Autorisierung greifen die Anwender über verschlüsselte Datenleitungen und ein intuitives Webportal auf sie zu. Dadurch war der Schulungsaufwand sehr gering. Auch der Aufwand für Installation und Inbetriebnahme hielt sich in Grenzen. Schon einen Tag nach Auftragseingang war die Lösung operativ. Die Kontaktdaten der Aerospace-Partner extrahierte Adient aus dem Alt-System des Automotive-Bereichs, so dass sie automatisch in OpenDXM GlobalX übernommen werden konnten.

Die Ingenieure bei Adient Aerospace nutzen OpenDXM GlobalX derzeit als Portallösung, d.h. sie extrahieren die auszutauschenden Daten aus ihrem PTC Windchill PLM-System und versenden sie manuell mit OpenDXM GlobalX. Um die Datenaustauschprozesse zu automatisieren und zu beschleunigen, erwägt das Unternehmen die Option, eine OpenDXM GlobalX Windchill-Integration zu implementieren. Die Datenaustauschplattform von PROSTEP lässt sich sehr gut in die Prozesse und Anwendungen des jeweiligen Unternehmens integrieren.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2021 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline