Digital Technologies Forum exhibits SAMPL blockchain demonstrator

Darmstadt, August 2021 – Together with partners, PROSTEP has developed a blockchain-based solution for the tamper-proof exchange of 3D print and process data and the unambiguous identification of printed components as part of the SAMPL project funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). The demonstrator for this solution will be exhibited at the Digital Technologies Forum in Berlin in 2021/22. The forum is a networking platform and exhibition space for selected digital technology research projects and innovations from Germany. The aim is to promote discussion and the transfer of knowledge between national and international actors from the worlds of business, science, and politics.

The Digital Technologies Forum's showroom offers an overview of key developments from Germany in the field of digital technologies. It is currently showcasing interactive demonstrators involving hot topics such as augmented reality, digital twins, machine learning, artificial intelligence, big data analytics and blockchain. PROSTEP set up the SAMPL demonstrator at the end of last year. Employees at the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute (HHI), which is in charge of the showroom, present the demonstrators to experts, political decision-makers, representatives from the scientific community and members of the press from Germany and abroad during guided tours.

The SAMPL demonstrator shows an example of how to create a trustworthy data transfer chain for additive manufacturing. This makes it possible for companies to send 3D print and process data to an external print service provider for the manufacture of spare parts without compromising the protection of their intellectual property. A key part of this chain of trust is the OpenDXM GlobalX data exchange solution as well as SAMPL-capable 3D printers, which ensure that only the licensed number of print jobs are executed. The solution also allows the printed components to be tagged using RFID chips or other methods for ensuring traceability and unambiguous identification.

"We are proud that the Digital Technologies Forum has chosen our SAMPL demonstrator to serve as an example of innovative research results," says Dr. Martin Holland, coordinator of the successfully completed consortium project. "With the development of the Secure Additive Manufacturing Platform, we have pioneered the use of blockchain technology in a variety of different application areas." PROSTEP has now fully integrated the blockchain module in its OpenDXM GlobalX data exchange platform so that it can be used for the tamper-proof exchange of any type of product or process data.

"Blockchain technology will dramatically change the way companies ensure compliance with contractual agreements in collaborative scenarios," says Marc Reznicek from Fraunhofer HHI. "The SAMPL demonstrator is a good example of the application of technology in industrial environments and is sure to generate a great deal of interest among international visitors to the Digital Technologies Forum."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
3290 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 220
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Forum Digitale Technologien stellt SAMPL Blockchain-Demonstrator aus

Darmstadt, August 2021 – Zusammen mit Partnern hat PROSTEP im Rahmen des vom BMWi geförderten SAMPL-Projekts eine Blockchain-basierte Lösung für den fälschungssicheren Austausch von 3D-Druck- und Prozessdaten sowie für die zweifelsfreie Identifikation der gedruckten Bauteile entwickelt. Der Demonstrator dieser Lösung wird 2021/22 im Forum Digitale Technologien in Berlin ausgestellt. Das Forum dient als Vernetzungsplattform und Ausstellungsfläche für ausgewählte Forschungsprojekte und Innovationen auf dem Gebiet der digitalen Technologien aus Deutschland. Ziel ist es, den Diskurs und Wissenstransfer zwischen nationalen und internationalen Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik zu fördern.

Der Showroom des Forums Digitale Technologien bietet einen Überblick über wichtige Entwicklungen aus Deutschland auf dem Gebiet der digitalen Technologien. Derzeit gibt es dort interaktive Demonstratoren zu brandaktuellen Themen wie Augmented Reality, Digital Twin, Maschinelles Lernen, Künstliche Intelligenz, Big Data Analytics oder der Blockchain. Ende letzten Jahres hat PROSTEP den SAMPL-Demonstrator aufgebaut. Mitarbeiter des Fraunhofer HHI, das den Showroom betreut, präsentieren die Demonstratoren im Rahmen von Führungen den Fachleuten, politischen Entscheidern, Wissenschaftsvertretern und Presseleuten aus dem In- und Ausland.

Der SAMPL-Demonstrator zeigt exemplarisch den Aufbau einer vertrauenswürdigen Datentransferkette für die Additive Fertigung. Sie versetzt Unternehmen in die Lage, die 3D-Druck- und Prozessdaten für die Herstellung von Ersatzteilen ohne Gefahr für ihr geistiges Eigentum an einen externen Druckdienstleister zu schicken. Wesentlicher Bestandteil dieser „Chain of Trust“ ist die Datenaustauschlösung OpenDXM GlobalX sowie SAMPL-fähige 3D-Drucker, die dafür Sorge tragen, dass nur die lizensierte Zahl von Druckjobs ausgeführt wird. Darüber hinaus erlaubt die Lösung die Kennzeichnung der gedruckten Bauteile mittels RFID-Chip oder anderer Methoden zur Sicherstellung der Traceability und zweifelsfreien Identifikation

„Wir sind stolz darauf, dass das Forum Digitale Technologien unseren SAMPL-Demonstrator als Beispiel für zukunftsweisende Forschungsergebnisse ausgewählt hat“, sagt Dr. Martin Holland, Koordinator des erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Konsortialprojekts. „Mit der Entwicklung der Secure Additive Manufacturing Platform haben wir Pionierarbeit für die Nutzung der Blockchain-Technologie in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereichen geleistet.“ PROSTEP hat das Blockchain-Modul inzwischen vollständig in seine Datenaustauschplattform OpenDXM GlobalX integriert, so dass es für den fälschungssicheren Austausch von Produkt- und Prozessdaten jeglicher Art genutzt werden kann.

„Die Blockchain-Technologie wird die Art, wie Unternehmen die Einhaltung vertraglicher Vereinbarungen bei der Zusammenarbeit absichern, dramatisch verändern“, sagt Marc Reznicek vom Fraunhofer HHI. „Der SAMPL-Demonstrator ist ein gutes Beispiel für die Anwendung der Technologie im industriellen Umfeld, der bei den internationalen Besuchern des Forums Digitale Technologien sicher auf großes Interesse stoßen wird.“

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2021 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback