Kautex tests new OpenPDM integration to Polarion

Darmstadt, January 2022 – PROSTEP AG has expanded its PLM integration platform OpenPDM to include a new connector to Polarion, the application lifecycle management (ALM) system from Siemens Digital Industries Software. The software and consulting company is thus improving capabilities for integrating ALM systems, which are becoming increasingly important as a result of the high proportion of software in products. The first customer to evaluate the new connector will be the automotive supplier Kautex. The company's aim is to use the OpenPDM platform to synchronize ALM data with its development partners.

The ALM solution Polarion is used to manage requirements tasks, tests and release versions in software development. As Mirko Theiß, OpenPDM product manager, explains, this information must be combined with product data from mechanical and E/E (electrical/electronic) development to create an end-to-end digital thread that ensures traceability across system and domain boundaries. "That's why the integration of ALM with other enterprise applications such as PLM or ERP plays an important role, especially for the manufacturers of mechatronic and smart products."

In order to meet customer requirements, PROSTEP is expanding the world's leading PLM integration platform OpenPDM in the direction of ALM. The new Polarion connector makes it possible to synchronize or link information from Polarion with other ALM systems as well as PLM and ERP systems. The integration platform supports different scenarios in this context, depending on the use case involved. Thanks to the OpenPDM OSLC provider, the new Polarion connector, like all the other connectors, makes it possible to link data across different systems.

Kautex, an automotive supplier belonging to the Textron Group, will the first to use the new connector. With over 6,000 employees at more than 30 locations in 14 countries, it is one of the 100 largest automotive suppliers in the world. Kautex develops and manufactures innovative fuel tank systems, battery systems, camera and sensor cleaning systems, and camshafts for all the major carmakers. The company also manufactures a wide range of standard and customized plastic packaging solutions.

Kautex intends to use the new OpenPDM connector to synchronize information about issues between two Polarion instances. One of the instances is located at Kautex, while the other is used by development partners. In conjunction with OpenPDM's process engine, the new connector ensures the bidirectional synchronization of information.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
3290 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 220
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Kautex testet neue OpenPDM- Integration zu Polarion

Darmstadt, Januar 2022 – Die PROSTEP AG hat ihre PLM-Integrationsplattform OpenPDM um einen neuen Konnektor zu Polarion, dem Application Lifecycle Management-System (ALM) von Siemens Digital Industries Software, erweitert. Damit verbessert das Software- und Beratungshaus die Möglichkeiten zur Integration von ALM-Systemen, die durch den hohen Softwareanteil in Produkten zunehmend wichtiger werden. Als erster Kunde wird Automobilzulieferer Kautex den neuen Konnektor evaluieren. Ziel des Unternehmens ist es, ALM-Daten über die OpenPDM-Plattform mit seinen Entwicklungspartnern zu synchronisieren.

Die ALM-Lösung Polarion dient dazu Anforderungen, Tasks, Tests und Release-Stände in der Software-Entwicklung zu verwalten. Diese Informationen müssen mit den Produktdaten aus Mechanik- und E/E-Entwicklung (Elektrik/Elektronik) zu einem ganzheitlichen Digital Thread verbunden werden, um die Nachverfolgbarkeit über System- und Domänengrenzen sicherzustellen, wie Mirko Theiß, Produktmanager OpenPDM, erläutert. „Deshalb spielt die Integration von ALM mit anderen Unternehmensanwendungen wie PLM oder ERP gerade für die Hersteller von mechatronischen bzw. smarten Produkten eine wichtige Rolle.“

Um den Kundenanforderungen Rechnung zu tragen, erweitert PROSTEP die weltweit führende PLM-Integrationsplattform OpenPDM in Richtung ALM. Der neue Polarion-Konnektor ermöglicht es, Informationen aus Polarion mit anderen ALM-Systemen, aber auch PLM- oder ERP-Systemen zu synchronisieren oder zu verlinken. Je nach Anwendungsfall unterstützt die Integrationsplattform hier unterschiedliche Szenarien. Dank des OpenPDM OSLC Providers ermöglicht der neue Polarion-Konnektor, wie alle anderen Konnektoren auch, die systemübergreifende Verlinkung von Daten.

Erster Anwender des neuen Konnektors wird der zum Textron-Konzern gehörende Automobilzulieferer Kautex sein. Mit über 6.000 Mitarbeitern an über 30 Standorten in 14 Ländern zählt er zu den 100 größten Automobilzulieferern der Welt. Kautex entwickelt und fertigt innovative Tanksysteme im Kraftstoffbereich, Batteriesysteme, Kamera- und Sensor-Reinigungs-Systeme sowie Nockenwellen für alle namhaften Automobilhersteller. Außerdem stellt das Unternehmen eine breite Palette von Standard- und kundenspezifischen Kunststoff-Verpackungen her.

Kautex will mit dem neuen OpenPDM Konnektor Informationen über Problemfälle (Issues) zwischen zwei Polarion-Instanzen synchronisieren. Eine dieser Instanzen steht bei Kautex selbst, die andere wird von den Entwicklungspartnern genutzt. Der neue Konnektor sorgt in Verbindung mit der Prozesse-Engine von OpenPDM dafür, dass die Informationen bidirektional synchron gehalten werden.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2022 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback