New blockchain application proves authorship of CAD data

Darmstadt, June 2022 – In the middle of last year, a blockchain committee was set up at the VDMA (German Association for Mechanical and Plant Engineering) to intensify the exchange of information on the technology and to investigate possible applications in more detail. The committee is affiliated with the VDMA's IT department and is open to all member companies interested in blockchain. New use cases are regularly presented at the committee's meetings. At the last meeting, PROSTEP showed how the technology can be used to prove beyond doubt the authorship of complex CAD models.

PROSTEP is an active member of the blockchain committee, and it was not the first time that it had presented a use case. At one of the committee's first meetings, Dr. Martin Holland, Head of Strategy & Business Development at PROSTEP, presented a blockchain-based solution for the forgery-proof exchange of 3D printing and process data and the unequivocal identification of the printed components. It was originally developed as part of the collaborative SAMPL project. Blockchain technology is now an integral part of PROSTEP's data exchange solution OpenDXM GlobalX, thus making it available to a wider range of users.

"We are seeing an increasing number of interesting blockchain applications that go beyond the mere payment processing function. In addition to automating business processes via smart contracts, the technology also offers great potential, particularly in the context of the unalterable documentation of transactions that can be used as evidence in court," says Holland. At the panel's last meeting, he presented another practice-oriented example: The solution, which was created in Holland, makes it possible to store the history describing the creation of complex CAD models in the blockchain and thus provide full proof of the authorship of the data. This is particularly interesting for collaborative open innovation scenarios in which multiple engineers work simultaneously on a new development.

"Members of VDMA, including PROSTEP, have developed a number of applications that are really exciting," says Kai Kalusa, head of Digital Public Affairs at VDMA. "We are currently discussing presenting these applications to a wider audience as part of a larger event in order to give our member companies a better understanding of the blockchain technology."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
100 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 200
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Neue Blockchain-Anwendung weist Urheberschaft von CAD-Daten nach

Darmstadt, Juni 2022 – Mitte letzten Jahres wurde im VDMA ein Blockchain Gremium gegründet, das den Austausch über die Technologie intensivieren und die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten eingehender untersuchen soll. Es ist an die Abteilung Informatik des VDMA angegliedert und steht allen Mitgliedsfirmen offen, die sich für die Blockchain interessieren. Auf den Treffen des Gremiums werden regelmäßig neue Anwendungsfälle vorgestellt. Zuletzt zeigte PROSTEP, wie sich die Urheberschaft von komplexen CAD-Modellen mit Hilfe der Technologie zweifelsfrei nachweisen lässt.

PROSTEP ist aktives Mitglied des Blockchain-Gremiums und stellt nicht zum ersten Mal einen Anwendungsfall vor. Auf einem der ersten Treffen des Gremiums präsentierte Dr. Martin Holland, Leiter Strategy & Business Development bei PROSTEP, eine Blockchain-basierte Lösung für den fälschungssicheren Austausch von 3D-Druck- und Prozessdaten und die zweifelsfreie Identifikation der gedruckten Bauteile. Sie wurde ursprünglich im Rahmen des SAMPL-Verbundprojekts entwickelt. Die Blockchain-Technologie ist inzwischen integraler Bestandteil von PROSTEPs Datenaustausch-Lösung OpenDXM GlobalX und steht damit einem breiteren Anwenderkreis zur Verfügung.

„Wir sehen immer mehr interessante Blockchain-Anwendungen außerhalb der reinen Zahlfunktion. Neben der Automatisierung von Geschäftsprozessen durch Smart Contracts bietet die Technologie insbesondere bei der unveränderbaren und gerichtsverwertbaren Dokumentation von Transkationen großes Potenzial“, sagt Holland. Beim letzten Treffen des Gremiums zeigte er ein weiteres praxistaugliches Beispiel: Die aus Holland stammende Lösung ermöglicht es, die Entstehungsgeschichte von komplexen CAD-Modellen in der Blockchain zu speichern und damit die Urheberschaft der Daten lückenlos nachzuweisen. Sie ist besonders interessant für kollaborative Open Innovation-Szenarien, in denen mehrere Ingenieur*innen gleichzeitig an einer Neuentwicklung arbeiten.
„Mitglieder des VDMA, darunter PROSTEP haben eine Reihe von Anwendungen entwickelt, die wirklich spannend sind“, sagt Kai Kalusa, Leiter Digital Public Affairs beim VDMA. „Wir diskutieren derzeit, diese Anwendungen im Rahmen einer größeren Veranstaltung einem breiteren Kreis von Interessenten vorzustellen, um die Blockchain-Technologie unseren Mitgliedsunternehmen näher zu bringen.“

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2022 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback