New OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR Integration from DSC and PROSTEP

Darmstadt/Karlsruhe, November 2019 – Making data exchange as simple, secure and flexible as possible for development partners, joint ventures and suppliers – this is the objective that DSC Software AG and PROSTEP AG are now pursuing together. The new OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR integration enables users to exchange native CAD data, drawings and other documents directly from the SAP ECTR user interface via PROSTEP's managed file transfer solution, OpenDXM GlobalX.

The SAP Engineering Control Center, SAP ECTR, developed by DSC is the standard integration platform for authoring tools in SAP and provides a central engineering cockpit for product lifecycle management in SAP. The idea is to use a single system to manage and control all the relevant data, documents and processes throughout the entire product lifecycle. This creates a central repository for product data that is consistent throughout the enterprise from development to logistics and manufacturing through to service. SAP ECTR is thus an ideal collaboration platform and one that is now even more attractive to development partners, joint ventures and suppliers thanks to the new OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR integration.

The web-based data exchange platform OpenDXM GlobalX from PROSTEP, a PLM consulting and software firm, provides users from any department in a company with an easy-to-use interface and ensures maximum security for managed file transfer (MFT) using multilevel data encryption. In addition to web browser interfaces and integration in Microsoft Outlook and Windows Explorer, OpenDXM GlobalX also provides integrations for the PLM systems 3D EXPERIENCE, Teamcenter, Windchill and SAP CAD Desktop – and now also for SAP ECTR.

To initiate a new data exchange operation, users can create a folder directly in the SAP ECTR desktop window and fill it with the desired documents - easily and quickly via drag-and-drop, using the search function, or by selecting,  for example, assembly components directly from the SAP 3D Visual Enterprise Viewer. Once the set of data to be sent has been defined, information about the selected documents is sent to the OpenDXM GlobalX PDM wizard so that the send request can be completed. The user can now use the OpenDXM GlobalX PDMwizard to select which contents in the folder are to be shared with which persons. The relevant people are then notified by e-mail that the data has been made available, or the data is delivered to them automatically via Odette File Transfer Protocol (OFTP) in an ENGDAT. This means that even extremely large volumes of data involving multiple gigabytes can be exchanged in encrypted form between companies at any time easily and securely.

"An extremely user-friendly integration for SAP ECTR, which makes exchanging PDM data as easy as sending e-mails, has been developed within the framework of very professional and successful collaboration with DSC," says Udo Hering, head of product management at PROSTEP AG. "We have thus further expanded our comprehensive range of PLM integration services for our customers and with DSC have gained a very important partner in the SAP environment."

Dominik Maier, Senior Vice President Products & Development at DSC Software AG, adds: "The new integration is another step towards expanding SAP ECTR as an integration platform, also in the context of specific data exchange processes. It enables users to quickly and easily exchange defined content with specific target groups and offers a high level of flexibility for effective, up-to-date processes."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

Neue OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR Integration von DSC und PROSTEP

Darmstadt/Karlsruhe, November 2019 - Den Datenaustausch für Entwicklungspartner, Joint Ventures und Zulieferer so einfach, sicher und flexibel wie möglich gestalten – dieses Ziel verfolgen die DSC Software AG und die PROSTEP AG nun gemeinsam. Die neue OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR Integration ermöglicht Anwendern nun den Austausch von nativen CAD-Daten, Zeichnungen und anderen Dokumenten – direkt aus der SAP-ECTR-Bedienoberfläche über die Managed-File-Transfer-Lösung OpenDXM GlobalX von PROSTEP.

Das von DSC entwickelte SAP Engineering Control Center – SAP ECTR – ist die Standard-Integrationsplattform für Autorenwerkzeuge in SAP und bietet ein zentrales Engineering-Cockpit für das Product Lifecycle Management in SAP. Die Idee hinter dem Ganzen: nur ein System zum Verwalten und Steuern aller relevanten Daten, Dokumente und Abläufe über den Produktlebenszyklus hinweg. So wird ein zentraler Ablageort für unternehmensweit konsistente Produktdaten geschaffen – von der Entwicklung über Logistik und Fertigung bis hin zum Service. SAP ECTR ist also eine ideale Kollaborationsplattform, die durch die neue OpenDXM GlobalX SAP ECTR Integration jetzt noch attraktiver für Entwicklungspartner, Joint Ventures und Zulieferer wird. 

Die webbasierte Datenaustauschplattform OpenDXM GlobalX des PLM-Beratungs- und Softwarehauses PROSTEP bietet für Anwender aus allen Unternehmensbereichen eine einfach zu bedienende Oberfläche und sorgt durch eine mehrstufige Verschlüsselung für maximale Sicherheit beim Managed File Transfer (MFT). Neben einer Webbrowser-Oberfläche und einer Microsoft-Outlook-, sowie Windows-Explorer-Integration, existierten bislang Integrationen für die PLM-Systeme 3D EXPERIENCE, Teamcenter, Windchill sowie SAP CAD-Desktop – und nun auch für SAP ECTR.

Um einen neuen Datenaustausch zu initiieren, können Anwender direkt im Schreibtisch-Fenster von SAP ECTR einen Ordner anlegen und diesen mit den gewünschten Dokumenten befüllen – einfach und schnell per drag&drop, über die Suchfunktion oder durch direktes Selektieren von z. B. Baugruppenelementen aus dem SAP 3D Visual Enterprise Viewer. Nach der Definition des Versandumfangs werden die Informationen der ausgewählten Dokumente zur Vervollständigung des Versandauftrages an den OpenDXM GlobalX PDMwizard übergeben. Der Anwender kann nun im OpenDXM GlobalX PDMwizard auswählen, welche Inhalte des Ordners mit welchen Personen geteilt werden sollen. Die jeweiligen Personen werden anschließend per E-Mail über die Bereitstellung der Daten informiert oder bekommen diese automatisch per Odette File Transfer Protocol (OFTP) in einem ENGDAT zugestellt. So können selbst sehr große Datenmengen im mehrstelligen Gigabytebereich komfortabel und zu jeder Zeit sicher verschlüsselt zwischen Unternehmen ausgetauscht werden.

„In einer sehr professionellen und angenehmen Zusammenarbeit mit DSC ist eine äußert anwenderfreundliche Integration für SAP ECTR entstanden, die einen PDM- Datenaustausch so einfach wie ein E-Mail-Versand ermöglicht“, sagt Udo Hering, Leiter des Produktmanagements der PROSTEP AG. „Damit haben wir einen weiteren Puzzlestein geschaffen, um das umfangreiche Leistungsangebot von PLM-Integrationen für unsere Kunden weiter auszubauen und mit DSC einen für uns sehr wichtigen Partner im SAP-Umfeld gewinnen können."

Dominik Maier, Senior Vice President Products & Development der DSC Software AG, ergänzt: „Die neue Integration ist ein weiterer Schritt, SAP ECTR als Integrationsplattform auszubauen, auch im Rahmen spezifischer Datenaustauschprozesse. Es versetzt Anwender in die Lage, schnell und unkompliziert definierte Inhalte mit spezifischen Zielgruppen auszutauschen – hohe Flexibilität für effektive und zeitgemäße Prozesse“.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2019 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB