PDF Generator 3D 8.0 supports HTLM5 export and 2D derivation

Darmstadt, June 2018 – PROSTEP AG, one of the leading consulting and software companies in the field of product lifecycle management (PLM), has added new functions for publishing 2D and 3D content on the web to its PDF Generator 3D software, which enables 3D PDF documents to be created automatically. 

Version 8.0 now allows both the export of 3D data to HTML5 and the automatic generation of BOMs with 2D views of 3D components. This means that the solution now offers even greater flexibility when used as a service content generator or as a motor driving the implementation of drawing-free processes forward with the help of technical data packages (TDP).

In addition to the export of 3D data to HTML5, PDF Generator 3D 8.0 offers innovative functions for publishing 3D data together with metadata in the web. The 3D content of the HTML pages can be visualized in virtually all currently available browsers – both on desktop computers and on mobile devices running under iOS or Android. Responsive design means that the pages are displayed differently depending on the end device being used. Like 3D PDF templates, corresponding HTML5 templates can be stored and used to create the web pages. They allow the pages to be displayed in line with customer specifications regarding layout and corporate identity. The standard configuration includes a template that customers can use immediately.

Another new feature of PDF Generator 3D 8.0 is the automatic generation of BOMs with 2D views of the 3D components. This means that PROSTEP has now fulfilled the wish of customers that often not only want to integrate 3D representations in their 3D PDFs but also 2D views derived from assemblies and individual parts. Derivation takes place during conversion in conjunction with the PDF Generator 3D TDP module, which also creates the BOM tables for spare parts catalogs for example. It includes all the key functions needed to generate technical data packages as required for establishing drawing-free processes in accordance with the VDA guideline 4953-2 and the US military standard MIL-STD-31000. Not only can it be used to embed 3D representations and STEP AP 242 metadata in PDF/A-3-compliant containers but also to derive static 2D views from dynamic 3D PDF models.

In addition to supporting the current formats of all leading CAD systems, the new version 8.0 of PDF Generator 3D also provides support for the 3D formats DWG and DXF for the first time. The native processing of the widely used AutoCAD formats not only makes it easier to provide HTML5 and 3D PDF content for architecture and building information management (BIM) but also for service documentation.

HTML5 export and the automatic generation of BOMs with 2D views, means that PDF Generator 3D can be used as a service content generator, including the automated creation of spare parts catalogs for example. Integration facilities to virtually all leading ERP and PDM/PLM systems and direct access to more than 20 different CAD formats allow the creation of catalogs to be automated to an extremely high degree, thus saving a substantial amount of time and money. This is of particular benefit to companies that produce spare parts catalogs for products configured according to customer specifications – regardless of whether these are small machines or large systems.

"The provision of the respective current spare parts catalogs, manuals and other documents in digital form is a prerequisite for developing new service offerings and service-based business models," says Timo Trautmann, a senior consultant at PROSTEP. "With PDF Generator 3D as a service content generator, companies can create their service documentation faster and make it even easier for their service technicians to access it on site via the web."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PDF Generator 3D 8.0 unterstützt HTLM5-Export und 2D-Ableitung

Darmstadt, Juni 2018 – Die PROSTEP AG, eines der führenden PLM-Beratungs- und -Softwarehäuser, hat die PDF Generator 3D-Software für die automatische Erstellung von 3D PDF-Dokumenten um neue Funktionen für die Publikation von 2D- und 3D-Inhalten im Web erweitert.

Version 8.0 ermöglicht jetzt den Export von 3D-Daten nach HTML5 sowie die automatische Generierung von Stücklisten mit 2D-Ansichten von 3D-Komponenten. Damit kann die Lösung noch flexibler als Service Content Generator oder als Motor für die Implementierung zeichnungsloser Prozesse mit Hilfe so genannter Technical Data Packages (TDP) eingesetzt werden.

Neben dem HTML5-Export von 3D-Daten bietet PDF Generator 3D 8.0. innovative Funktionen, um 3D-Daten zusammen mit Metadaten ins Web zu stellen. Die 3D-Inhalte der HTML-Seiten können mit praktisch allen aktuellen Browsern visualisiert werden - sowohl auf Desktop-Computern, als auch auf mobilen Endgeräten unter iOS oder Android. Dank des Responsive Designs werden sie je nach Endgerät unterschiedlich dargestellt. Für die Erzeugung der Webseiten können, analog zur Nutzung von 3D PDF-Vorlagen, entsprechende HTML5-Templates hinterlegt werden. Sie passen die Darstellung der Seiten an die Kundenvorgaben hinsichtlich Layout und Corporate Identity an. Zum Standardumfang gehört ein Template, das die Kunden direkt nutzen können.

Eine weitere Neuerung in PDF Generator 3D 8.0 ist die automatische Erzeugung von Stücklisten mit 2D-Ansichten der 3D-Komponenten. Damit trägt PROSTEP den Anforderungen der Kunden Rechnung, die für viele Anwendungsfälle neben den 3D-Repräsentationen auch abgeleitete 2D-Ansichten von Baugruppen und Einzelteilen in 3D PDFs einbinden möchten. Die Ableitung erfolgt während der Konvertierung im Zusammenspiel mit dem PDF Generator 3D TDP-Modul, das z.B. auch die tabellarischen Stücklisten für Ersatzteilkataloge erzeugt. Es enthält alle wesentlichen Funktionen zur Erzeugung von Technical Data Packages, wie sie für die Etablierung zeichnungsloser Prozesse gemäß VDA-Richtlinie 4953-2 oder US Military Standard MIL-STD-31000 erforderlich sind. Damit können nicht nur beliebige 3D-Repräsentationen und STEP AP 242-Metadaten in PDF A/3-konforme Container eingebettet, sondern auch statische 2D-Ansichten von dynamischen 3D PDF-Modellen abgeleitet werden.

Neben den aktuellen Formaten der gängigen CAD-Systeme unterstützt die neue Version 8.0 von PDF Generator 3D erstmals die 3D-Formate DWG und DXF. Die native Verarbeitung der verbreiteten AutoCAD-Formate erleichtert die Bereitstellung von HTML5- oder 3D PDF-Content für Architektur und Building Information Management (BIM), aber auch für die Service-Dokumentation.

HTML5-Export und automatische Generierung von Stücklisten mit 2D-Ansichten ermöglichen den Einsatz des PDF Generator 3D als Service Content Generator, z.B. für die automatisierte Erstellung von Ersatzteilkatalogen. Integrationen zu praktisch allen gängigen ERP- und PDM/PLM-Systemen und der direkte Zugriff auf über 20 verschiedene CAD-Formate ermöglichen eine hochgradig automatisierte Katalogerstellung, was den Zeit- und Kostenaufwand reduziert. Davon profitieren vor allem Unternehmen, die Ersatzteilkataloge für kundenindividuell konfigurierte Produkte erzeugen, unabhängig davon, ab es sich um kleinere Maschinen oder großen Anlagen handelt.

„Die Bereitstellung der jeweils aktuellen Ersatzteilkataloge, Handbüchern und anderen Unterlagen in digitaler Form ist die Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung neuer Serviceangebote und servicebasierter Geschäftsmodelle“, sagt Timo Trautmann, Senior Consultant bei PROSTEP. „Mit dem PDF Generator 3D als Service Content Generator können Unternehmen ihre Service-Dokumentation schneller aufbereiten und ihren Servicetechnikern vor Ort über das Web noch einfacher zugänglich machen.“

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2018 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB