PROSTEP builds digital twin in the ProProS research project

Darmstadt, February 2020 – Modern shipbuilding - starting with shipbuilding prefabrication - is a logistical challenge. In order to maintain an overview right from the start and to be able to intervene on a daily basis, for example in the event of staff shortages, the Bremen-based Fr. Lürssen shipyard, the Machine Tool Laboratory (WZL) at RWTH Aachen University and PROSTEP AG have launched the ProProS research project. The aim of the project is to set up a digital twin for the manufacturing and assembly processes at shipyards and to use it for status control and optimization of shipbuilding production.

The Lürssen-based family-owned company hopes that digitization will lead to greater transparency in production and a reduction in throughput times, as Dr. Bernhard Urban, Head of Development & Innovation, emphasizes: "The joint research project with PROSTEP and the WZL is the basis for greater digitization of our manufacturing and assembly processes. With the development program, we want to continue the far-reaching digitization processes of our company in a targeted manner and thus consider the claim to leadership in performance and quality formulated by our company founder Friedrich Lürßen". As part of the project, PROSTEP is working together with the WZL's manufacturing experts, who will be responsible for developing the production logic, to develop the demonstrator of a digital twin. It maps the planning data from the target process (product structure, work orders, assembly sequence, scheduling, etc.) in a consistent data model and compares it in real time with the actual data from production and assembly. The first step is to identify disturbances in the process flow, e.g. due to a missing or unfinished component, at an early stage using a clear component identification and to assess their effects on the schedule. The digital twin is also intended to take over control tasks and help to avoid or minimize delays by simulating alternative production and assembly sequences.

The project with a total volume of 3.2 million euros runs until 2022 and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi). The coordinator of the project is the Lürssen shipyard, which specializes in yacht and naval shipbuilding.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PROSTEP baut Digital Twin im ProProS-Forschungsprojekt

Darmstadt, Februar 2020 – Moderner Schiffbau ist – beginnend mit der schiffbaulichen Vorfertigung – eine logistische Herausforderung. Um von Anfang an den Überblick zu behalten und tagesaktuell, etwa bei Personalausfällen, eingreifen zu können, haben die Bremer Fr. Lürssen Werft, das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor (WZL) der RWTH Aachen und die PROSTEP AG das Forschungsprojekt ProProS gestartet. Ziel des Projekts ist es, einen digitalen Zwilling für die Fertigungs- und Montageprozesse auf Werften aufzubauen und ihn für Statuskontrolle und Optimierung der schiffbaulichen Produktion einzusetzen.

Das Familienunternehmen Lürssen verspricht sich von der Digitalisierung mehr Transparenz in der Produktion und eine Verkürzung der Durchlaufzeiten, wie Dr. Bernhard Urban, Head of Development & Innovation betont: „Das gemeinsame Forschungsprojekt mit PROSTEP und dem WZL ist Grundlage für eine stärkere Digitalisierung unserer Fertigungs- und Montageprozesse. Mit dem Entwicklungsprogramm wollen wir die tiefgreifenden Digitalisierungsprozesse unseres Unternehmens gezielt fortsetzen und damit dem von unserem Firmengründer Friedrich Lürßen formulierten Führungsanspruch bei Leistung und Qualität Rechnung tragen.“ PROSTEP entwickelt im Rahmen des Projekts zusammen mit den Fertigungsexperten des WZL, die sich um die Entwicklung der produktionstechnischen Logik kümmern werden, den Demonstrator eines digitalen Zwillings. Er bildet die Planungsdaten aus dem Sollprozess (Produktstruktur, Arbeitsaufträge, Montagereihenfolge, Terminierung etc.) in einem durchgängigen Datenmodell ab und gleicht sie in Echtzeit mit den Ist-Daten aus Fertigung und Montage ab. Im ersten Schritt geht es darum, Störungen im Prozessablauf, z.B. durch ein fehlendes oder unfertiges Bauteil, anhand einer eindeutigen Bauteilkennung frühzeitig zu erkennen und in ihren Auswirkungen auf den Zeitplan zu beurteilen. Der digitale Zwilling soll aber auch Steuerungsaufgaben übernehmen und helfen, Verzögerungen durch die Simulation alternativer Fertigungs- und Montagefolgen zu vermeiden oder zu minimieren.

Das Projekt mit einem Gesamtumfang von 3,2 Millionen Euro läuft bis 2022 und wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert. Verbundkoordinator ist die auf den Yacht- und Marineschiffbau spezialisierte Fr. Lürssen Werft.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2020 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB