PROSTEP collaborates with PTC on ThingWorx integration

Darmstadt, July 2018 – PROSTEP AG, one of the leading PLM consulting and software houses, and PLM vendor PTC are stepping up their collaboration involving the integration of the digital and physical product worlds.

PROSTEP has developed three preconfigured OpenPDM CONNECT solutions for connecting PTC's IoT platform ThingWorx to the PLM systems 3D EXPERIENCE, Teamcenter and SAP PLM on the basis of its OpenPDM technology. The solutions enable digital product information to be linked with the operating data of the real product, which converge on the IoT platform. PROSTEP will also support the new ThingWorx Orchestration integration framework, which is slated for launch at the end of the year together with ThingWorx Release 8.4.

OpenPDM provides the technological basis for all of PROSTEP's integration solutions. The software offers basic data mapping and workflow definition functions that can be used to manage the entire process involved in synchronizing data between the connected systems. OpenPDM not only provides standardized connectors to commercial PLM solutions but also to applications like application lifecycle management (ALM) and requirements management, as well as connectors for IoT integration.

ThingWorx is one of the leading platforms for linking the digital and real product worlds in production and service. PROSTEP and PTC have expanded their long-standing partnership with the aim of ensuring that the IoT platform can not only be linked to PTC Windchill but also to third-party PLM solutions. PROSTEP currently offers OpenPDM ThingWorx CONNECT solutions for 3DEXPERIENCE, Teamcenter and SAP PLM via the PTC Marketplace. The standard configurations support read access to the PLM data from ThingWorx and visualization of the data in PTC Navigate. Depending on customer requirements, they can also be configured for data export.

PROSTEP has also agreed to support the new ThingWorx Orchestration integration framework when developing future PLM integrations. ThingWorx Orchestration is an integration framework that boasts a comprehensive library of preconfigured connectors. The framework enables different IT systems and devices to be integrated using simple drag-and-drop operations, thus allowing cross-system and cross-domain business processes to be set up and supported quickly.

Working closely with PTC, PROSTEP's integration specialists used the new middleware to implement a demonstrator for connecting Teamcenter to PTC ThingWorx, which was first showcased at PTC LiveWorx in Boston. It not only enables PLM data to be visualized in the context of IoT but also allows complete PLM data packages to be compiled and made available to external partners in a secure environment via ThingWorx.

"We are proud that we were one of the first PTC partners to have the opportunity to test the new integration framework," said Peter Pfalzgraf, head of the Products business unit at PROSTEP. "The presentation of the demonstrator underscores our expertise in the field of PLM integration and also enables us position ourselves as a competent integration partner when it comes to IoT."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PROSTEP kooperiert mit PTC bei der ThingWorx-Integration

Darmstadt, Juli 2018 – Die PROSTEP AG, eines der führenden PLM-Beratungs- und -Softwarehäuser, und PLM-Hersteller PTC verstärken ihre Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Integration von digitaler und physischer Produktwelt.

Auf der Basis der OpenPDM-Technologie hat PROSTEP drei vorkonfigurierte OpenPDM CONNECT-Lösungen für die Anbindung der IoT-Plattform PTC ThingWorx an die PLM-Systeme 3D EXPERIENCE, Teamcenter und SAP PLM entwickelt. Sie ermöglichen die Verknüpfung digitaler Produkt-Informationen mit den Betriebsdaten des realen Produkts, die auf der IoT-Plattform zusammenlaufen. PROSTEP wird auch das neue Integration-Framework ThingWorx Orchestration unterstützen, das Ende des Jahres zusammen mit der ThingWorx Release 8.4 auf den Markt kommen soll.

OpenPDM ist die technologische Basis für alle Integrationslösungen von PROSTEP. Die Software bietet grundlegende Funktionen für das Daten-Mapping und die Definition von Workflows, mit denen der komplette Prozess der Datensynchronisation zwischen den verbundenen Systemen gemanagt werden kann. Darüber hinaus stellt OpenPDM standardisierte Konnektoren zu kommerziellen PLM-Lösungen, aber auch zu Anwendungen wie Application Lifecycle Mangement (ALM) oder Anforderungsmanagement und für die IoT-Anbindung zur Verfügung.

ThingWorx ist eine der führenden Plattformen für die Verknüpfung von digitaler und realer Produktwelt in Fertigung und Service. PROSTEP und PTC haben ihre langjährige Partnerschaft mit dem Ziel erweitert, die IoT-Plattform nicht nur mit PTC Windchill, sondern auch mit den PLM-Lösungen von Drittanbietern verbinden zu können. Aktuell bietet PROSTEP über den PTC Marketplace OpenPDM ThingWorx CONNECT-Lösungen zu 3DEXPERIENCE, Teamcenter und SAP PLM an. Im Standardumfang unterstützen sie den lesenden Zugriff auf die PLM-Daten von ThingWorx aus und ihre Visualisierung in PTC Navigate. Je nach Kundenanforderungen können sie aber auch für den Export von Daten konfiguriert werden.

PROSTEP hat sich außerdem bereit erklärt, bei der Entwicklung künftiger PLM-Integrationen das neue Integration-Framework ThingWorx Orchestration zu unterstützen. Es handelt sich um ein Integrations-Framework mit einer umfassenden Bibliothek vorkonfigurierter Konnektoren. Das Framework ermöglicht die Verknüpfung von unterschiedlichen IT-Systemen und Geräten mit Hilfe einfacher Drag & Drop-Operationen, um auf diese Weise schnell system- und domänenübergreifende Geschäftsprozesse aufbauen und unterstützen zu können.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit PTC haben die Integrationsspezialisten von PROSTEP auf Basis der neuen Middleware einen Demonstrator für die Anbindung von Teamcenter an PTC ThingWorx realisiert, der erstmals auf der PTC LiveWorx in Boston gezeigt wurde. Er erlaubt nicht nur die Visualisierung von PLM-Daten im IoT-Kontext, sondern bietet darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, über ThingWorx ein komplettes PLM-Datenpaket zusammenzustellen und externen Partnern in einer sicheren Umgebung bereitzustellen.

„Wir sind stolz darüber, dass wir als einer der ersten PTC-Partner die Gelegenheit hatten, das neue Integrations-Framework zu testen“, sagt Peter Pfalzgraf, Leiter der BU Produkte bei PROSTEP. „Mit der Vorstellung des Demonstrators untermauern wir unsere Kompetenzen auf dem Gebiet der PLM-Integration und positionieren uns auch im IoT-Umfeld als kompetenter Integrationspartner.“

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2018 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB