PROSTEP makes its OpenPDM architecture fit for the cloud

Darmstadt, September 2019 – PROSTEP, a PLM consulting and software company, offers companies wanting to move all or part of their PLM and ERP systems to the cloud and integrate them with each other a cloud-capable solution. Thanks to its modular architecture and the use of microservices, Version 9 and higher of the world’s leading OpenPDM solution can be used in hybrid cloud scenarios.

OpenPDM is made up of the actual integration framework, which controls the automated mapping of the data and data structures, and a variety of standard connectors for integrating PDM/PLM systems and other enterprise applications. The new architecture makes it possible to use the connectors independently of the integration framework and integrate them directly in the cloud infrastructure for the respective application. All OpenPDM components act independently of one another and communicate with each other or with other systems on the basis of microservices via REST APIs.

In addition to the connectors, OpenPDM 9 also includes a new workflow engine and a mapping engine. The new architecture provides the best possible support for hybrid scenarios with PLM in one cloud and ERP in another or, for example, PLM on-premise and ERP in the cloud. The deployment of the components has also been updated and expanded to include technologies such as Docker and OpenShift.

The conversion to microservices required a modification of the connectors. The proven core functionality with the business logic was improved and a state-of-the-art technological substructure was added. New microservices-based integrations for PTC Windchill, the 3DExperience platform from Dassault Systèmes, Siemens Teamcenter and SAP are currently being implemented for OpenPDM version 9.0 and 9.1; others will follow as required. The new connector architecture offers customers greater functionality and flexibility by allowing them to use it on its own or in conjunction with mapping and workflow engines already in use at the customer's premises.

First and foremost, OpenPDM 9.0 allows PROSTEP to address the requirements of new customers who are already using PLM and/or ERP systems from the cloud and want to integrate them in their existing IT infrastructure. Existing customers who have built complex integration, migration or collaboration scenarios based on OpenPDM 8.x do not necessarily have to migrate their existing installation to the new architecture. "We will also continue to develop the OpenPDM software currently being used by our customers, and next year we will be launching a new Version 8.7 with functional extensions and connectors to the current versions of all integrated PDM/PLM and ERP systems," promised Mirko Theiss, OpenPDM product manager at PROSTEP.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PROSTEP macht die OpenPDM-Architektur fit für die Cloud

Darmstadt, September 2019 – Das PLM-Beratungs- und Softwarehaus PROSTEP bietet Unternehmen, die ihre PLM- und ERP-Systeme oder Bestandteile davon in die Cloud verlagern und miteinander integrieren wollen, dafür eine ebenfalls Cloud-fähige Lösung. Dank einer modularen Architektur und der Nutzung von Microservices kann wie weltweit führende OpenPDM ab Version 9 in hybriden Cloud-Szenarien eingesetzt werden.

OpenPDM besteht aus dem eigentlichen Integration Framework, das das automatisierte Mapping der Daten und Datenstrukturen steuert, und einer Vielzahl von Standard-Konnektoren für die Anbindung von PDM/PLM-Systemen und anderen Enterprise-Anwendungen. Die neue Architektur ermöglicht es, die Konnektoren unabhängig vom Integration Framework einzusetzen und direkt in die Cloud-Infrastruktur für die jeweilige Anwendung einzubinden. Alle OpenPDM-Komponenten agieren unabhängig voneinander und kommunizieren auf Basis von Microservices über REST APIs untereinander oder mit anderen Systemen.

Neben den Konnektoren gehören eine neue Workflow-Engine und eine Mapping-Engine zu OpenPDM 9. Die neue Architektur bietet eine optimale Unterstützung für hybride Szenarien mit PLM in der einen und ERP in einer anderen Cloud oder z.B. PLM "on premise" und ERP in der Cloud. Auch das Deployment der Komponenten wurde modernisiert und um Technologien wie Docker und OpenShift erweitert.

Die Umstellung auf Microservices erforderte einen Umbau der Konnektoren. Dabei wurde die bewährte Kernfunktionalität mit der Geschäftslogik verbessert und mit einem modernen technologischen Unterbau versehen. Derzeit werden für die Version OpenPDM 9.0 und 9.1 neue microservices-basierte Integrationen zu PTC Windchill, der 3DExperience-Plattform von Dassault Systèmes, Siemens Teamcenter und SAP implementiert; bei Bedarf werden weitere folgen. Die neue Konnektor-Architektur bieten den Kunden mehr Funktionalität und Flexibilität, dadurch, dass sie stand-alone bzw. in Verbindung mit bereits beim Kunden im Einsatz befindlichen Mapping- und Workflow-Engines eingesetzt werden können.

PROSTEP adressiert mit OpenPDM 9.0 vor allem die Anforderungen von Neukunden, die PLM- und/oder ERP-Systeme aus der Cloud nutzen und mit ihrer bestehenden IT-Infrastruktur integrieren wollen. Bestandskunden, die auf Basis von OpenPDM 8.x komplexe Integrations-, Migrations- oder Collaboration-Szenarien aufgebaut haben, müssen ihre bestehende Installation nicht zwingend auf die neue Architektur migrieren. „Wir werden auch die aktuell bei den Kunden im Einsatz befindliche OpenPDM Software weiter entwickeln und im nächsten Jahr eine neue Version 8.7 mit funktionalen Erweiterungen und Konnektoren zu den aktuellen Versionen aller angebundenen PDM/PLM- und ERP-Systeme auf den Markt bringen“, versprach Mirko Theiss, Produktmanager OpenPDM bei PROSTEP.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2019 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB