PROSTEP creates a link between PTC Arena and Jira

Darmstadt, September 2022 – OpenPDM PLM integration platform has been used in hybrid cloud scenarios since version 9.0. In the future, PROSTEP will also offer it as an integration platform as a service (iPaaS). In close cooperation with Arena, which is part of PTC, the PLM consulting and software company is currently developing a cloud-enabled standard integration between the PLM solution Arena from PTC and the ALM application Jira from Atlassian. Both applications are cloud-native.

An increasing number of European manufacturers are discovering the cloud and want to use software as a service (SaaS) solutions as part of their digital transformation. PTC is providing European companies with support on their way to the cloud by hosting Arena PLM and quality management system (QMS) software locally in Germany and providing a German user interface. The company is working with PROSTEP's PLM experts to integrate the solution with other enterprise applications.

According to analysts, integrating cloud PLM and QMS systems with other enterprise applications is one of the biggest hurdles on the road to digital transformation.

PROSTEP has set out to remove this hurdle. "We have been systematically developing the software architecture of our OpenPDM PLM integration platform for several years with the aim of enabling its use in the cloud and providing the best possible support for the integration of different cloud and on-premises applications," says Peter Pfalzgraf, head of Partner Management at PROSTEP. "Our strategic goal is to offer the integrations as a service from the cloud in the future."

In a first step, PROSTEP is developing an OpenPDM-based standardized and configurable integration solution between the PLM and QMS solutions from cloud PLM pioneer Arena and the ALM solutions Jira from Atlassian. Arena has been part of PTC since the beginning of 2021. Jira is one of the leading application lifecycle management (ALM) solutions for planning, tracking and release management in the software development process.

The integration between Arena and Jira will have a predefined functional scope, which means that its deployment will require just a few configuration steps. It supports, for example, the synchronization of issues or error messages created in Jira with Arena. A corresponding ticket is then automatically created in Arena and assigned to employees for processing. If the issue changes in Jira, the corresponding ticket is updated in Arena.

The OpenPDM platform, which controls the synchronization process and synchronizes the data, is implemented in the AWS cloud infrastructure together with the two connectors. In the coming months, PROSTEP will be adding additional standard integrations to its iPaaS offering.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
100 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 200
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

PROSTEP schafft Verbindung zwischen PTC Arena und Jira

Darmstadt, September 2022 – PROSTEP wird die PLM-Integrationsplattform OpenPDM, die seit Version 9.0 in hybriden Cloud-Szenarien einsetzbar ist, künftig auch als Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS) anbieten. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Arena, einem Unternehmen von PTC, entwickelt das PLM-Beratungs- und Softwarehaus derzeit eine Cloud-fähige Standard-Integration zwischen der PLM-Lösung Arena von PTC und der ALM-Anwendung Jira von Atlassian. Beide Anwendungen sind Cloud-nativ.

Immer mehr europäische Hersteller entdecken die Cloud für sich und wollen im Zuge ihrer digitalen Transformation Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)-Lösungen nutzen. PTC unterstützt europäische Unternehmen auf dem Weg in die Wolke, indem die Software Arena PLM und QMS (Quality Management System) lokal in Deutschland gehostet und mit einer deutschen Benutzeroberfläche ausgestattet wird. Bei der Integration der Lösung mit anderen Unternehmensanwendungen arbeitet das Unternehmen mit den PLM-Expert*innen von PROSTEP zusammen.

Analyst*innen zufolge ist die Integration von Cloud-PLM- und QMS-Systemen mit anderen Unternehmensanwendungen eine der größten Hürden auf dem Weg zur digitalen Transformation.

PROSTEP hat sich vorgenommen, diese Hürde zu beseitigen. „Seit mehreren Jahren entwickeln wir die Software-Architektur unserer PLM-Integrationsplattform OpenPDM konsequent weiter, um sie für den Cloud-Einsatz zu befähigen und die Anbindung unterschiedlicher Cloud- und On-Premises-Anwendungen optimal zu unterstützen“, sagt Peter Pfalzgraf, Leiter Partner-Management bei PROSTEP. „Unser strategisches Ziel ist es, die Integrationen in Zukunft als Service aus der Cloud anzubieten.“

In einem ersten Schritt entwickelt PROSTEP eine standardisierte und konfigurierbare Integrationslösung auf Basis von OpenPDM zwischen den PLM- und QMS-Lösungen des Cloud-PLM-Pioniers Arena und den ALM-Lösungen Jira von Atlassian. Arena gehört seit Anfang 2021 zu PTC. Jira ist eine der führenden Application Lifecycle Management (ALM)-Lösungen für die Planung, Verfolgung und das Release-Management im Softwareentwicklungsprozess.

Die Integration zwischen Arena und Jira wird einen vordefinierten Funktionsumfang haben, so dass sie mit wenigen Konfigurationsschritten eingesetzt werden kann. Sie unterstützt zum Beispiel die Synchronisation von in Jira erstellten Issues oder Fehlermeldungen mit Arena. Dort wird dann automatisch ein entsprechendes Ticket erstellt und den Mitarbeiter*innen zur Bearbeitung zugewiesen. Ändert sich das Issue in Jira, wird das entsprechende Ticket in Arena aktualisiert.

Die OpenPDM-Plattform, die den Synchronisationsprozess steuert und die Daten synchronisiert, ist zusammen mit den beiden Konnektoren in der Cloud-Infrastruktur von AWS implementiert. In den kommenden Monaten wird PROSTEP sein iPaaS-Angebot um weitere Standardintegrationen ergänzen.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2022 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback