PROSTEP sponsors the Formula Student DART Racing Team

Darmstadt, April 2019 - This year PROSTEP AG is sponsoring the DART Racing Team at the Technical University of Darmstadt (TU Darmstadt) for the first time.

Among other things, the team is developing an electric racing car for the international Formula Student university design competition. The PLM consulting and software company is donating a powerful computer to the students so that they can perform complex simulation tasks such as flow analyses and finite element calculations. The team intends to use the computer to not only optimize the properties of the electric vehicle's aerodynamic components but also maximize their strength and resistance to deformation.

The TU Darmstadt Racing Team e.V. (DART) is a non-profit association that promotes science, research and education in the field of vehicle construction. Approximately 60 students from the disciplines mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, computer science and industrial engineering, as well as other disciplines, are actively involved. The team has set itself the goal of designing, manufacturing, rolling out and validating two vehicles within one year and using them to successfully compete in the Electric and Driverless categories of the Formula Student competition. The next races are being held from 28 July to 1 August 2019 at the Red Bull Race Track in Spielberg, Austria, and from 5 to 11 August 2019 at the Hockenheimring race track in Germany.

This year, PROSTEP is sponsoring the team that is developing the current ny2019 electric vehicle. It is already the ninth all-electric vehicle that the students at the TU Darmstadt will be putting on the race track. One of the challenges that the ongoing further development poses is validating the aerodynamic properties of the vehicle as early as possible in order to achieve a high level of reliability, and do well in the races.

"As a student racing team, we have very limited access to wind tunnels and therefore rely heavily on CFD simulations to test our ideas for aerodynamic components," says Marco Bonneschky, technical team leader Electric for the DART Racing Team. "Pre-processing, simulation and post-processing, however, require enormous computational power if we are to work efficiently in terms of time. We are therefore delighted that PROSTEP is providing us with more power for this purpose."

E-mobility is an important future trend that not only requires new development tools and methods but also users with new skills, as Peter Pfalzgraf, head of the Products business unit at PROSTEP, commented. "Providing support to the team participating in the Electric category of the Formula Student competition provides us with the perfect opportunity to establish contact with highly-skilled young scientists and to see how they master the challenges of e-mobility in a field as exciting as racing technology. We wish the DART Racing Team the greatest of success for the new racing season."

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PROSTEP sponsert das DART Racing Team der Formula Student

Darmstadt, April 2019 – Die PROSTEP AG sponsert in diesem Jahr erstmals das DART Racing Team der TU Darmstadt, das für den internationalen Hochschulkonstruktionswettbewerb Formula Student unter anderem einen elektrischen Rennboliden entwickelt.

Das PLM-Beratungs- und Softwarehaus stiftet den Studentinnen und Studenten einen leistungsfähigen Rechner für anspruchsvolle Simulationsaufgaben wie Strömungsanalysen und Finite Elemente-Berechnungen. Damit will das Team zum einen die Eigenschaften von aerodynamischen Bauteilen des Elektroboliden optimieren und zum anderen ihre Festigkeit und Verformungssteifigkeit maximieren.

Das TU Darmstadt Racing Team e.V. (DART) ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein zur Förderung von Wissenschaft, Forschung und Ausbildung auf dem Gebiet des Fahrzeugbaus. Ihm gehören aktiv ca. 60 Studentinnen und Studenten aus Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Informatik, Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen und anderen Fachbereichen an. Das Team hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, innerhalb eines Jahres zwei Boliden zu konstruieren, zu fertigen, in Betrieb zu nehmen, zu validieren und mit ihnen erfolgreich an den Formula Student-Wettbewerben Electric und Driverless teilzunehmen. Die nächsten Rennen finden vom 28. Juli bis 1. August 2019 am Red Bull Race Track in Spielberg, Österreich, und dann vom 5. bis 11. August 2019 auf dem Hockenheimring statt.

PROSTEP sponsert in diesem Jahr das Team, das den aktuellen Elektroboliden ny2019 entwickelt. Es ist bereits das neunte vollelektrische Fahrzeug, das die Studentinnen und Studenten der TU Darmstadt auf die Rennstrecke bringen. Eine der Herausforderungen bei der Weiterentwicklung besteht darin, die aerodynamischen Eigenschaften des Fahrzeugs so früh wie möglich zu validieren, um einen hohen Grad an Zuverlässigkeit und gute Ergebnisse bei den Rennen zu erreichen.

"Als studentisches Rennteam haben wir nur sehr begrenzten Zugang zu Windtunneln und sind deshalb stark auf CFD-Simulationen angewiesen, um unsere Ideen für aerodynamische Bauteile testen zu können“, sagt Marco Bonneschky, technischer Teamleiter Electric des DART Racing Teams. „Pre-Prozessing, Simulation und Post-Prozessing erfordern allerdings sehr große Rechenleistung, um zeitlich effizient arbeiten zu können. Deshalb freuen wir uns, dass PROSTEP uns dafür mehr Power zur Verfügung stellt.“

Die E-Mobilität ist ein wichtiger Zukunftstrend, der neue Entwicklungswerkzeuge und -methoden, aber auch Anwender mit neuen Skills erfordert, wie Peter Pfalzgraf, Leiter BU Products kommentiert. „Die Unterstützung der Formula Student Electric ist für uns deshalb eine gute Gelegenheit, um Kontakte zu kompetenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern zu knüpfen und zu sehen, wie sie die Herausforderungen der E-Mobilität auf einem so spannenden Gebiet wie der Renntechnik bewältigen. Wir wünschen dem DART Racing Team viel Erfolg für die neue Rennsaison.“

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2019 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB