PROSTEP presents the OpenPDM Ship platform at ICCAS 2019

Darmstadt, August 2019 - PROSTEP AG will be presenting its new OpenPDM Ship integration platform to a wider audience for the first time at the 19th International Conference on Computer Applications in Shipbuilding (ICCAS) in Rotterdam. OpenPDM Ship uses standardized connectors to connect shipbuilding-specific development platforms with all the leading PDM/PLM and ERP systems as well as mechanical CAD systems, thus creating the prerequisites for end-to-end digital processes in the shipbuilding and shipping industries.

ICCAS 2019 is being held from 24 to 26 September 2019 at the Postillion Convention Center in Rotterdam. It is the world's key meeting place for representatives from the shipbuilding and shipping industries who want to learn more about using new methods and practice-oriented computer applications to optimize ship development, production and operation. The event is sponsored by PROSTEP AG, among others, which has submitted two presentations this year. They examine the challenges relating to the horizontal and vertical integration of IT applications in the shipbuilding and shipping industries – challenges addressed by the OpenPDM Ship integration platform.

PROSTEP uses the term horizontal integration to describe the integration of the different CAx applications used to exchange model data, without any loss of information, during the various phases of the ship development process. A particular challenge here is the exchange of data between classic mechanical CAD systems and specialized shipbuilding applications like NAPA Steel, AVEVA Marine and CADMATIC, which normally do not store explicit geometry but instead only record the way in which it was created. PROSTEP has developed powerful connectors and routines that enable the coexistence of mechanical CAD and intent-driven systems on the one hand, and the creation of end-to-end CAx process chains on the other.

OpenPDM Ship also supports vertical integration in all the leading PDM/PLM and ERP systems. This is a prerequisite for the consistent management of data from different authoring systems and for coordinating the processes of the different disciplines and work areas. At the same time, it ensures the traceability of the digital information flows over the entire lifecycle of a vessel. As part of the second presentation on end-to-end digitalization in the shipbuilding and shipping industries, PROSTEP will also be presenting a new integration approach that makes it possible to directly link data in the authoring systems and configure these information networks in line with the process requirements.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
300 Park Street, Suite 410
Birmingham, MI 48009, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

PROSTEP stellt auf der ICCAS 2019 die OpenPDM Ship-Plattform vor

Darmstadt, August 2019 – Die PROSTEP AG wird auf der 19. International Conference on Computer Applications in Shipbuilding (ICCAS) in Rotterdam die neue Integrationsplattform OpenPDM Ship erstmals einem größeren Publikum vorstellen. OpenPDM Ship verbindet schiffbauspezifische Entwicklungsplattformen über standardisierte Konnektoren mit gängigen PDM/PLM- und ERP-Systemen sowie Mechanik-CAD-Systemen und schafft dadurch die Voraussetzung für durchgängige digitale Prozesse in Schiffbau und Schifffahrt. 

Die ICCAS 2019 findet vom 24. bis 26. September 2019 im Postillion Convention Center in Rotterdam statt. Es ist der weltweit wichtigste Treffpunkt für Vertreter aus Schiffbau und Schifffahrt, die sich über den Einsatz neuer Methoden und praktischer Computeranwendung für die Optimierung von Schiffsentwicklung, -produktion und -betrieb informieren wollen. Gesponsert wird die Veranstaltung unter anderem von der PROSTEP AG, die in diesem Jahr zwei Vorträge eingereicht hat. Sie beleuchten die Herausforderungen bei der horizontalen und vertikalen Integration von IT-Anwendungen in Schiffbau und Schifffahrt, die mit der Integrationsplattform OpenPDM Ship adressiert werden.

Unter horizontaler Integration versteht PROSTEP die Integration der verschiedenen CAx-Anwendungen, die in den verschiedenen Phasen der Schiffsentwicklung eingesetzt werden, um Modelldaten ohne Informationsverluste austauschen zu können. Eine besondere Herausforderung ist hier der Datenaustausch zwischen klassischen Mechanik-CAD-Systemen und schiffbauspezifischen Anwendungen wie NAPA Steel, AVEVA Marine oder CADMATIC, die normalerweise keine explizite Geometrie speichern, sondern nur die Art und Weise aufzeichnen, wie sie erzeugt wird. PROSTEP hat dafür leistungsfähige Konnektoren und Routinen entwickelt, die zum einen die Koexistenz von Mechanik-CAD- und so genannten intent-driven Systemen und zum anderen den Aufbau datendurchgängiger CAx-Prozessketten ermöglichen.

OpenPDM Ship unterstützt darüber hinaus die vertikale Integration in gängige PDM/PLM- und ERP-Systeme. Sie ist die Voraussetzung, um Daten aus verschiedenen Autorensystemen konsistent verwalten und die Prozesse der unterschiedlichen Disziplinen und Gewerke zu koordinieren zu können. Gleichzeitig gewährleistet sie die Nachverfolgbarkeit der digitalen Informationsflüsse über den gesamten Schiffslebenszyklus hinweg. Im Rahmen des zweiten Vortrags über die digitale Durchgängigkeit in Shipbuilding und Shipping wird PROSTEP außerdem einen neuen Integrationsansatz vorstellen, der es ermöglicht, Daten in den Autorensystemen direkt zu verlinken und diese Informationsnetze entsprechend den Prozessanforderungen zu konfigurieren.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2019 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB