PROSTEP TECHDAY – online, but still entertaining

Darmstadt, December 2020 - Online conferences can be rather tedious affairs. PROSTEP proved that it doesn't have to be that way with its PROSTEP TECHDAY, which was held online for the first time.  The professionally moderated live sessions with short presentations about key new products and interesting presentations by customers offered participants a diverse and entertaining program that was very well received. With almost 150 customers and interested parties, the customary meeting of the PROSTEP community was better "attended" than ever before.

PROSTEP is positioning itself as a reliable partner for the digital transformation with a comprehensive range of solutions for PLM integration, PLM collaboration, PLM migration, secure data exchange and the automated provision of CAD and PLM data in downstream processes such as manufacturing, assembly and service. The PLM consulting and software company presented its new traceability solution OpenCLM to a wider audience for the first time at PROSTEP TECHDAY. The solution makes it possible to link information across systems and domains in order to make project progress in complex mechatronic development projects more transparent and ensure the traceability of development steps and deliverables.

The company is responding to the growing demand for cloud-based services by ensuring that its software applications are cloud-ready and making them available as Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) models. Big-name customers like Siemens Valeo and OSRAM Continental are already using the OpenDXM GlobalX data exchange platform from the secure cloud infrastructure provided by the DARZ data center. The cloud offering is soon to be expanded to include additional services such as the data conversion service OpenDESC.com. PROSTEP also plans to offer integration as a service based on its cloud-capable PLM integration platform OpenPDM in the future.

At PROSTEP TECHDAY, the company presented the new version 9.2 of OpenPDM, which will be launched at the beginning of February 2021. In addition to connectors to the current versions of the leading PLM systems, it expands integration options in the direction of application lifecycle management (ALM). It also supports data linking to OSLC-capable systems and provides access to PLM data in different systems via the IoT platform ThingWorx. Thanks to REST interfaces and microservices, the connectors can be installed independently of the platform in distributed cloud scenarios.

The major innovation in version 9.2 of OpenDXM GlobalX is a powerful CAD client that analyzes the components to be sent and puts them together to create assemblies independently. It is intended for customers who want to use the data exchange platform without PDM/PLM integration. OpenDXM GlobalX can also be integrated directly in the PLM systems, which makes it possible for users to launch data exchange directly from their familiar working environment. Automotive supplier HBPO explained how quickly this can be done, using the SAP ECTR plug-in as an example.

PROSTEP has developed PDF Generator 3D into a powerful platform for converting CAD data from all leading CAD systems and embedding it in 3D PDF documents or publishing it as HTML5 data on the web. Assemblies can now be reduced during conversion to only the components that can be seen in order to protect the know-how inherent in them. The solution not only supports the automatic provision of spare parts catalogs but also the introduction of drawingless manufacturing and assembly processes, as the presentation by Siemens Large Drives Applications made clear.

PROSTEP gave customers the opportunity an opportunity to speak in all three sessions. One highlight was the presentation by Lockheed Martin Aeronautics, a manufacturer of military aircraft, which uses OpenPDM to transfer parts information, BOMs and work schedules from the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to SAP and the MES system Solumina. In the future, the solution will also be used to integrate other PLM systems and for bidirectional data synchronization.

“We consider our first online TECHDAY a resounding success, even though we sorely missed face-to-face contact with customers, interested parties and partners," said Peter Pfalzgraf, head of the Products business unit. "Many participants have congratulated us by e-mail on the 'super event', the entertaining format, the professional moderation and the informative presentations. We were very happy to hear that."

 

The recordings of PROSTEP TECHDAY 2020 can be found here.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
3290 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 220
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

PROSTEP TECHDAY – online, aber trotzdem unterhaltsam

Darmstadt, Dezember 2020 – Online-Konferenzen können sehr ermüdend sein. PROSTEP hat mit dem erstmal online stattfindenden PROSTEP TECHDAY gezeigt, dass es auch anders geht. Die professionell moderierten Live-Sessions mit kurzen Vorträgen zu wichtigen Produktneuheiten und interessanten Kundenvorträgen boten den Teilnehmern ein abwechslungsreiches und unterhaltsames Programm, das auf sehr positive Resonanz stieß. Mit fast 150 Kunden und Interessenten war das traditionelle Treffen der PROSTEP Community besser „besucht“ als jemals zuvor.

Mit seinem umfassenden Lösungsangebot für die PLM-Integration, -Kollaboration und -Migration, den sicheren Datenaustausch und die automatisierte Bereitstellung von CAD- und PLM-Daten in nachgelagerten Prozessen wie Fertigung, Montage oder Service, positioniert sich PROSTEP als verlässlicher Partner für die Digitale Transformation. Auf dem PROSTEP TECHDAY präsentierte das PLM-Beratungs- und Softwarehaus erstmals seine neue Traceability-Lösung OpenCLM einem größeren Publikum. Sie bietet die Möglichkeit, Informationen system- und domänenübergreifend miteinander zu verlinken, um die Projektfortschritte in komplexen, mechatronischen Entwicklungsprojekten besser transparent zu machen und die Nachverfolgbarkeit der Entwicklungsschritte und -ergebnisse sicherzustellen.

Der wachsenden Nachfrage nach Cloud-basierten Diensten trägt das Unternehmen dadurch Rechnung, dass es seine Software-Anwendungen für die Cloud befähigt und als SaaS-Modell (Software as a Service) bereitstellt. Namhafte Kunden wie Siemens Valeo oder OSRAM Continental nutzen die Datenaustauschplattform OpenDXM GlobalX bereits aus der sicheren Cloud-Infrastruktur des DARZ-Rechenzentrums. Das Cloud-Angebot soll demnächst um weitere Services wie den Datenkonvertierungsdienst OpenDESC.com ergänzt werden. Außerdem plant PROSTEP, auf Basis seiner Cloud-fähigen PLM-Integrationsplattform OpenPDM auch Integration künftig als Service anzubieten.

Auf dem PROSTEP TECHDAY stellte das Unternehmen die neue Version 9.2 von OpenPDM vor, die Anfang Februar 2021 auf den Markt kommen wird. Neben Konnektoren zu den aktuellen Versionen gängiger PLM-Systeme erweitert sie die Integrationsmöglichkeiten in Richtung Application Lifecycle Management (ALM). Außerdem unterstützt sie die Daten-Verlinkung mit OSLC-fähigen Systemen und den Zugriff auf PLM-Daten in unterschiedlichen Systemen über die IoT-Plattform ThingWorx. Dank REST-Schnittstellen und Microservices können die Konnektoren unabhängig von der Plattform in verteilten Cloud-Szenarien installiert werden.

Wesentliche Neuerung in der Version 9.2 von OpenDXM GlobalX ist ein leistungsfähiger CAD-Client, der die zu versendenden Bauteile analysiert und eigenständig zu Baugruppen zusammensetzt. Er ist gedacht für Kunden, die die Datenaustauschplattform ohne PDM/PLM-Integration einsetzen möchten. OpenDXM GlobalX lässt sich aber auch direkt in die PLM-Systeme integrieren, damit die Anwender den Datenaustausch direkt in ihrer gewohnten Arbeitsumgebung starten können. Wie schnell das geht, erläuterte Automobilzulieferer HBPO am Beispiel des SAP ECTR-Plug-Ins.

PROSTEP hat den PDF Generator 3D zu einer mächtigen Plattform für die Konvertierung von CAD-Daten aus allen gängigen CAD-Systemen und ihre Einbettung in 3D-PDF-Dokumente oder ihre Publikation als HTML5-Daten im Web weiterentwickelt. Neuerdings können Baugruppen bei der Konvertierung auf ihre sichtbaren Bestandteile reduziert werden, um das in ihnen steckende Knowhow zu schützen. Die Lösung unterstützt nicht nur die automatische Bereitstellung von Ersatzteil-Katalogen, sondern auch die Einführung von zeichnungslosen Fertigungs- und Montageprozessen, wie der Vortrag von Siemens Large Drives Applications deutlich machte.

PROSTEP ließ in allen drei Sessions Kunden zu Worten kommen. Ein Highlight war der Vortrag von Militärflugzeug-Hersteller Lockheed Martin Aeronautics, der OpenPDM für die Übertragung von Teileinformationen, Stücklisten und Arbeitsplänen aus der 3DEXPERIENCE-Plattform an SAP und das MES-System Solumina einsetzt. Die Lösung soll künftig auch für die Anbindung weiterer PLM-Systeme und die bidirektionale Datensynchronisation genutzt werden.

„Der erste Online TECHDAY war für uns ein voller Erfolg, auch wenn wir die persönlichen Kontakte zu Kunden, Interessenten und Partnern vermisst haben“, sagt Peter Pfalzgraf, Leiter der BU Products. „Viele Teilnehmer haben uns per Mail zu der ‚Super-Veranstaltung‘, dem unterhaltsamen Format, der professionellen Moderation und den informativen Beiträgen gratuliert. Darüber haben wir uns sehr gefreut.“

 

 

Die Aufzeichnungen des PROSTEP TECHDAY 2020 finden Sie hier.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2021 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline