Putzmeister uses PROSTEP services to migrate data

Darmstadt, March 2022 – The Putzmeister group of companies has consolidated the CAD and PLM landscape of its French subsidiary PLM2 and integrated it into the group-wide environment support from PROSTEP. The PLM experts at PROSTEP converted the French subsidiary's Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire data, including the design history, into the NX format and migrated it to the PLM system Teamcenter, which is used throughout the group. This enables Putzmeister to eliminate the additional cost of maintaining two system environments and makes it easier to reuse components.

Putzmeister is one of the world's leading manufacturers of concrete pumps, shotcrete machines, batching plants, truck mixers, mortar machines, conveyor belts and industrial pumps. The group, which has been part of Chinese construction machinery manufacturer Sany since 2012, has also grown in recent years by acquiring smaller competitors such as the company PLM2 in France. Putzmeister decided to replace the CAD and PLM systems used by its French subsidiary and migrate its data to the group-wide environment with the aim of making it easier for the subsidiary in France to collaborate with other subsidiaries in the group.

Putzmeister used the services provided by the PLM experts in PROSTEP's OpenDESC team to convert and migrate the CAD data. They were the only ones with the appropriate tools and the know-how needed to implement the project in the tight timeframe of three months, as Helmut Kockelke, project manager at Putzmeister, points out: "Without PROSTEP, we wouldn't have been able to complete the migration project on time and on budget and ensure that the migrated data had a high level of quality. “

In addition to the correct mapping of the drawing views, one of the challenges posed by the migration project was the conversion of features. In the new environment, the users wanted to link intelligent CAD models and assemblies using knowledge about relations and have associative drawings so that they could be reused optimally. To convert the features, PROSTEP integrated the CADfeature software from its technology partner ELYSIUM in the conversion pipeline. The PLM experts also developed a postprocessor for Putzmeister that adapted the assembly structures to the group-wide standard following conversion and distributed the elements of the components over the defined layers in NX.

After a successful test run, PROSTEP converted a total of approximately 7,000 CAD models and drawings with a very high success rate. All the files were transferred with the exception of three or four models. Standard routines for PLM migration and integration provided by PROSTEP's proven OpenPDM platform also made it possible to quickly and easily import all the converted data into Teamcenter.

Thanks to its time-tested tools and high level of expertise, PROSTEP was able to adhere to the tight schedule and complete the project on time. This allowed Putzmeister to take the existing CAD and PLM systems in France out of service. This not only allows the company to save costs for licenses and system administration but also standardizes the product development methods toolbox. This makes it easier to exchange existing components and facilitates collaboration throughout the group.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
100 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 200
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Putzmeister nutzt PROSTEP - Dienste für die Datenmigration

Darmstadt, März 2022 –Mit Unterstützung von PROSTEP hat die Unternehmensgruppe Putzmeister die CAD- und PLM-Landschaft ihrer französischen Tochtergesellschaft PLM2 konsolidiert und in die Konzernumgebung integriert. Die PLM-Experten von PROSTEP konvertierten die Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire-Daten der Franzosen mitsamt ihrer Konstruktionshistorie in das NX-Format und migrierten sie in das konzernweit genutzte PLM-System Teamcenter. Putzmeister will dadurch den zusätzlichen Kostenaufwand für die Pflege von zwei Systemumgebungen eliminieren und die Wiederverwendung von Bauteilen erleichtern.

Putzmeister ist einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Betonpumpen, Betonspritzmaschinen, Betonmischanlagen und Fahrmischern, Mörtelmaschinen, Förderbändern und Industriepumpen. Der seit 2012 zum chinesischen Baumaschinenhersteller Sany gehörende Konzern ist in den letzten Jahren auch durch Übernahmen von kleineren Mitbewerbern wie der Firma PLM2 in Frankreich gewachsen. Um die Zusammenarbeit der französischen Tochtergesellschaft mit anderen Konzerntöchtern zu vereinfachen, entschied sich Putzmeister, die CAD- und PLM-Systeme der Franzosen abzulösen und ihre Daten in die Konzernumgebung zu migrieren.

Für die Konvertierung und Migration der CAD-Daten nutzte Putzmeister die Dienste der PLM-Experten des OpenDESC-Teams von PROSTEP. Nur sie verfügten über die geeigneten Werkzeuge und das nötige Know-how, um das Projekt in der knappen Zeit von drei Monaten realisieren zu können, wie Helmut Kockelke, Projektleiter auf Seiten von Putzmeister, betont: „Ohne PROSTEP hätten wir das Migrationsprojekt nicht in Time und Budget und mit der hohen Qualität der migrierten Daten stemmen können.“

Eine der Herausforderungen bei dem Migrationsprojekt war neben der korrekten Zuordnung der Zeichnungsansichten die Feature-Konvertierung. Die Anwender wollten in der neuen Umgebung „intelligente“ CAD-Modelle und Baugruppen mit Beziehungswissen verbinden und assoziative Zeichnungen haben, um sie optimal weiterverwenden zu können. Für die Umwandlung der Features integrierte PROSTEP die Software CADfeature des Technologiepartners ELYSIUM in die Konvertierungsstrecke. Außerdem entwickelten die PLM-Experten für Putzmeister einen Postprozessor, der die Baugruppen-Strukturen nach der Konvertierung an den Konzernstandard anpasste und die Elemente der Bauteile in NX auf definierte Layer verteilte.

Insgesamt konvertierte PROSTEP nach einem erfolgreichen Testlauf rund 7.000 CAD-Modelle und -Zeichnungen mit einer sehr hohen Erfolgsquote. Bis auf drei, vier Modelle konnten alle Dateien übertragen werden. Über die Standard-Routinen der bewährten OpenPDM-Plattform für die PLM-Migration und -Integration ließen sich die konvertierten Daten auch schnell und komfortabel in Teamcenter importieren.

Dank der bewährten Tools und der hohen Expertise war PROSTEP in der Lage, den knappen Zeitplan einzuhalten und das Projekt fristgerecht abzuschließen. So konnte Putzmeister die bestehenden CAD- und PLM-Systeme in Frankreich abschalten. Das Unternehmen spart durch die Konsolidierung nicht nur Kosten für Lizenzen und Systemadministration, sondern vereinheitlicht auch den Methoden-Baukasten in der Produktentwicklung. Das vereinfacht den Austausch von vorhandenen Bauteilen und die konzernweite Zusammenarbeit.

 

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2022 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback