SET Level partners present simulated traffic scenarios

Darmstadt, May 2021 – Before automated vehicles are allowed to take to the road, their safety must be tested using numerous simulations as not all driving situations can be tested on real roads. In the joint SET Level project, PROSTEP is working together with 19 partners from industry and academia on developing an appropriate simulation technology for this purpose.  It has to be flexible enough to be used for different applications and stages in vehicle development as well as make it possible to shift a significant proportion of driving tests over to simulation. Initial solutions were presented to an international audience of industry professionals at a virtual half-time event on April 29, 2021.

Automated vehicles must react safely in all driving situations. Testing this on the road would take years. If vehicles are to be approved for use on the road, it is crucial that simulation can be carried out efficiently. "Getting automated vehicles onto the road requires powerful, simulation-based tools and methods that can be used both during development and in the context of approval," states Prof. Frank Köster, founding director of the DLR Institute for AI Safety and Security, who is coordinating the project together with Dr. Stefan Rude from BMW.

The SET Level project partners are developing a method that will allow critical traffic situations to be mapped digitally in their entirety, thus enabling them to be simulated. This will significantly reduce the future cost involved in approving automated vehicles. What makes the method special is the use of open standards and simulation tools. This means that once the project has come to an end, it can be used and even further developed by numerous companies and research institutes.

The project partners used three simulated traffic scenarios to present the initial solutions to those attending the virtual half-time event. This involved simulating digital representations of vehicles in traffic situations under a wide variety of different criteria in order to draw conclusions about the reliability of the sensors and algorithms. The researchers focused on the test method, the simulation tools and the interaction between the software components.

PROSTEP provides the partners with support when it comes to the testing and industrialization of the project results and, as part of the project, is developing a demonstrator for a traceability solution that will be used to document the simulations. "We can, for example, use it to determine when which simulation models led to which results and decisions, using which software and hardware configuration, and subject to which constraints and requirements", explains project manager Dr. Steven Vettermann. Once the project has been completed, PROSTEP will develop the demonstrator into a commercial product and market it under the name OpenCLM.

SET Level will run until August 2022. The project has a total budget of more than 30 million euros and is receiving funding from the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). It builds on the PEGASUS cooperative project, which was completed in May 2019 and in which quality standards and methods for validating highly automated vehicles were developed. However, unlike SET Level, which is primarily concerned with flexibly automated and networked driving functions in urban areas, the focus of research back then was the highway.

The partners involved in the SET Level project are ADC Automotive Distance Control Systems GmbH, Audi AG, BMW AG, dSPACE GmbH, DLR Institute of Transportation Systems, ETAS GmbH, Ford-Werke GmbH, Fraunhofer LBF, Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI ) at the University Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), IPG Automotive GmbH, MAN Truck & Bus AG, Oldenburger Institute for Information Technology (OFFIS), Opel Automobile GmbH, PROSTEP AG, Robert Bosch GmbH, RWTH University in Aachen (Institute for Automotive Engineering), Braunschweig Technical University (Institute of Control Engineering), Darmstadt Technical University (Institute of Automotive Engineering), Volkswagen AG, ZF Friedrichshafen AG.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
3290 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 220
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

SET Level-Partner präsentieren simulierte Verkehrsszenarien

Darmstadt, Mai 2021 – Bevor automatisierte Fahrzeuge auf den Straßen unterwegs sein dürfen, muss ihre Sicherheit durch zahlreiche Simulationen getestet werden. Nicht alle Fahrsituationen lassen sich nämlich im realen Straßenverkehr erproben. Im Verbundprojekt SET Level arbeitet PROSTEP mit 19 Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft an einer dafür geeigneten Simulationstechnologie. Sie soll flexibel für unterschiedliche Anwendungen und Stufen in der Fahrzeugentwicklung einsetzbar sein und die Möglichkeit bieten, einen nennenswerten Anteil von Fahrtests in die Simulation zu verlagern. Auf einem virtuellen Halbzeitevent wurden am 29. April 2021 die ersten Lösungen einem internationalen Fachpublikum präsentiert.

Ein automatisiertes Fahrzeug muss in allen Fahrsituationen sicher reagieren. Dies auf der Straße zu testen, würde Jahre dauern. Daher ist es für die Zulassung entscheidend, dass das Testen in der Simulation effizient durchgeführt werden kann. „Nur mit leistungsfähigen, simulationsbasierten Werkzeugen und Methoden, die sowohl entwicklungsbegleitend als auch im Kontext der Freigabe eingesetzt werden können, lassen sich automatisierte Fahrzeuge auf die Straße bringen“, betont Prof. Frank Köster, Gründungsdirektor des DLR-Instituts für KI-Sicherheit, der das Projekt zusammen mit Dr. Stefan Rude von BMW koordiniert.

Die SET Level-Projektpartner entwickeln eine Methode, mit der kritische Verkehrssituationen komplett digital abgebildet und damit simuliert werden können. Dadurch wird der künftige Aufwand für die Zulassung automatisch fahrender Fahrzeuge erheblich reduziert. Das Besondere an der Methode ist die Verwendung offener Standards und Simulationswerkzeuge. Dadurch kann sie nach Projektende von vielen Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen genutzt und sogar weiterentwickelt werden.

Auf dem virtuellen Halbzeitevent stellten die Projektpartner den Teilnehmern anhand von drei simulierten Verkehrsszenarien erste Lösungen vor. Dabei wurden digitale Abbilder von Fahrzeugen im Zusammenspiel mit verkehrlichen Situationen unter verschiedensten Kriterien simuliert, um daraus Aussagen über die Zuverlässigkeit der Sensoren und Algorithmen abzuleiten. Der Schwerpunkt der Forschenden lag auf der Testmethode, den Simulationstools und dem Zusammenwirken der Softwarekomponenten.

PROSTEP unterstützt die Partner bei der Erprobung und Industrialisierung der Projektergebnisse und entwickelt im Rahmen des Projekts den Demonstrator einer Traceability-Lösung, mit der die Simulationen dokumentiert werden. „Wir können damit z.B. nachvollziehen, wann welche Simulationsmodelle mit welcher Software- und Hardware-Konfiguration unter welchen Randbedingungen und Anforderung zu welchen Ergebnissen und Entscheidungen geführt haben“, erläutert Projektleiter Dr. Steven Vettermann. Nach Projektende wird PROSTEP den Demonstrator zu einem kommerziellen Produkt weiterentwickeln und unter dem Namen OpenCLM vermarkten.

SET Level läuft noch bis August 2022. Das Projekt hat ein Gesamtbudget von mehr als 30 Millionen Euro und wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert. Es knüpft an das im Mai 2019 abgeschlossene Kooperationsprojekt PEGASUS an, in dem Qualitätsstandards und Methoden zur Absicherung hochautomatisierter Fahrzeuge entwickelt wurden. Allerdings lag der Forschungsschwerpunkt im Unterschied zu SET Level, wo es vor allem um flexibel automatisierte und vernetzte Fahrfunktionen im städtischen Bereich geht, damals auf der Autobahn.

Projektpartner von SET Level sind ADC Automotive Distance Control Systems GmbH, Audi AG, BMW AG, dSPACE GmbH, DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik, ETAS GmbH, Ford-Werke GmbH, Fraunhofer LBF, FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am KIT, IPG Automotive GmbH, MAN Truck & Bus AG, OFFIS - Institut für Informatik, Opel Automobile GmbH, PROSTEP AG, Robert Bosch GmbH, RWTH Aachen (Institut für Kraftfahrzeuge), TU Braunschweig (Institut für Regelungstechnik), TU Darmstadt (Fachgebiet Fahrzeugtechnik), Volkswagen AG, ZF Friedrichshafen AG.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

© 2021 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline