White paper on the integration of production planning with OpenPDM

Darmstadt, October 2022 – Many companies need to make their production processes more flexible and control them more intelligently if they are to bring their products to market faster and boost their competitiveness. The key to this is end-to-end digitalization. It requires better integration of manufacturing process management (MPM) and production planning and control (PPC) into the digital information flows of product development and production. In a new white paper, PROSTEP explains how end-to-end digitalization can be implemented effectively even in heterogeneous IT system landscapes.

Unlike product development and production, where PDM/PLM and ERP systems have been established for many years and are nowadays often relatively well integrated, the end-to-end digitalization of planning and control activities has been treated rather poorly. Production planners work with a variety of different tools that are not integrated or only integrated in a rudimentary sense, and which do not provide end-to-end support for the MPM process. In many companies, they still derive the MBOM from the EBOM in a manual process. This takes a great deal of time, especially when changes are made, and limits their ability to respond to new customer requirements.

This is why users in the fields of PPS and MPM are increasingly calling for tools specific to their requirements that support all processes from end to end. In the new white paper, companies learn why this does not necessarily mean that they have to opt for a monolithic approach or for the use of PLM or ERP systems. Depending on their requirements, they can use a separate solution such as an MES system for PPS or MPM. The OpenPDM integration platform allows such a system to be integrated into the existing IT landscape to such an extent that BOMs and other manufacturing information can be exchanged easily and synchronized in the event of changes.

OpenPDM supports the transfer of information between PDM, MPP and ERP systems at different levels. At the lowest level, the software enables access to the connected systems via connectors that can read and write product-specific information in compliance with the PLM paradigm. At the second level, the software's mapping service makes it possible to map the data schemas between the applications involved. At the topmost level, OpenPDM supports integration using an intuitive process engine. On the one hand, it controls the exchange of data and, on the other, links cross-system processes such as change management.

Thanks to the integration platform, it is possible to provide production planning with up-to-date and consistent product information. The production planners can always access up-to-date information for their day-to-day work in their MPM system without having to laboriously obtain it by mail or in Excel spreadsheets, as was previously the case. Necessary changes are also recorded and processed with system support and synchronized between the participants without any loss of information.

You can download the new PROSTEP white paper on end-to-end digitalization between product development and production here.

EMEA, Asia-Pacific

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostrasse 11 
64293 Darmstadt, Germany

Tel.: +49 6151 9287-0
Fax: +49 6151 9287-326

infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

North America

PROSTEP, Inc.
100 W. Big Beaver Rd, Suite 200
Troy, MI 48084, USA

Tel.: +1 248 247 1007  
Fax: +1 248 247 1011

Toll free
US Voice: 8 PROSTEP 01  
(877 678 3701)
US Fax: 8 PROSTEP 02  
(877 678 3702)

infocenter@prostep.com

Sie nutzen unsere Produkte und haben Fragen?
Dann besuchen Sie unser

You use our products and have questions?
Then visit our


+49 6151 9287-0
North America
+1 248 247 1007
Toll Free
1-8 PROSTEP 01

Whitepaper über die Integration der Produktionsplanung mit OpenPDM

Darmstadt, Oktober 2022 –Viele Unternehmen müssen ihre Produktionsprozesse stärker flexibilisieren und intelligenter steuern, um ihre Produkte schneller auf den Markt bringen und ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit steigern zu können. Schlüssel dazu ist die digitale Durchgängigkeit. Sie erfordert eine bessere Integration des Manufacturing Process Managements (MPM) bzw. der Produktionsplanung und -steuerung (PPS) in die digitalen Informationsflüsse zwischen Produktentwicklung und Produktion. In einem neuen Whitepaper erläutert PROSTEP, wie sich die digitale Durchgängigkeit auch in einer heterogenen IT-Systemlandschaft effektiv realisieren lässt.

Im Unterschied zu Produktentwicklung und Produktion, wo PDM/PLM- und ERP-Systeme seit vielen Jahren etabliert und mittlerweile sogar relativ gut integriert sind, ist die digitale Durchgängigkeit der planenden und steuernden Aktivitäten stiefmütterlich behandelt worden. Produktionsplaner*innen arbeiten mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Tools, die nicht oder nur rudimentär integriert sind und den MPM-Prozess nicht durchgängig unterstützen. In vielen Unternehmen leiten sie die M-BOM noch manuell aus der E-BOM ab. Das kostet insbesondere bei Änderungen viel Zeit und schränkt ihre Reaktionsfähigkeit auf neue Kundenanforderungen ein.

Die Anwender*innen im Bereich PPS bzw. MPM rufen deshalb zunehmend nach speziellen Tools für Ihre Anforderungen, die durchgängig alle Prozesse unterstützen.

In dem neuen Whitepaper erfahren Unternehmen, warum sie sich dabei nicht zwangsläufig für einen monolithischen Ansatz bzw. für die Nutzung von PLM- oder ERP-System entscheiden müssen. Sie können für PPS bzw. MPM je nach Anforderungen eine separate Lösung wie ein MES-System einsetzen. Über die Integrationsplattform OpenPDM lässt es sich mit der bestehenden IT-Landschaft so weit integrieren, dass Stücklisten und andere Fertigungsinformationen problemlos ausgetauscht und bei Änderungen synchronisiert werden können.

OpenPDM unterstützt die Informationsübertragung zwischen PDM-, MPP- und ERP-Systemen auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen. Auf unterster Ebene ermöglicht die Software den Zugriff auf die angeschlossenen Systeme über Konnektoren, die entsprechend dem PLM Paradigma produktspezifische Informationen lesen und schreiben können. Auf der zweiten Ebene ermöglicht der Mapping Service der Software die Abbildung der Datenschemata zwischen den beteiligten Anwendungen. Auf oberster Ebene unterstützt OpenPDM die Integration durch eine intuitive Process Engine. Sie steuert zum einen den Datenaustausch und koppelt zum anderen systemübergreifende Prozesse wie das Änderungsmanagement.

Dank der Integrationsplattform ist es damit möglich, der Produktionsplanung Produktinformationen aktuell und konsistent zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Die Produktionsplaner*innen können in ihrem MPM-System stets auf aktuelle Informationen für ihre tägliche Arbeit zugreifen, ohne sich diese wie bisher mühsam per Mail oder Excel-Tabelle beschaffen zu müssen. Auch notwendige Änderungen werden systemgestützt erfasst und bearbeitet und ohne Informationsverlust zwischen den Beteiligten synchronisiert.

Das neue PROSTEP-Whitepaper über die digitale Durchgängigkeit zwischen Produktentwicklung und Produktion können Sie hier herunterladen.

PROSTEP AG
Dolivostraße 11 · 64293 Darmstadt · Deutschland

Telefon +49 6151 9287-0 · Fax +49 6151 9287-326
infocenter@prostep.com
www.prostep.com

Sie nutzen unsere Produkte und haben Fragen?
Dann besuchen Sie unser


© 2022 | Copyright PROSTEP AG |Impressum|Haftungshinweis|Datenschutzerklärung|AGB|Hotline|Feedback